PDA

View Full Version : JUSTIN TUCK, CHRIS CANTY, AND LINVAL JOSEPH HAVE SURGERY



RoanokeFan
02-24-2012, 06:19 PM
JUSTIN TUCK, CHRIS CANTY, AND LINVAL JOSEPH HAVE SURGERY (http://espn.go.com/new-york/nfl/story/_/id/7611816/justin-tuck-chris-canty-new-york-giants-had-surgery)

"Defensive end Justin Tuck (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/8488/justin-tuck) and defensive tackle Chris Canty (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/8546/chris-canty) were among a few key Giants (http://espn.go.com/nfl/team/_/name/nyg/new-york-giants) to
recently undergo surgery.


Coach Tom Coughlin revealed that Tuck had surgery on his shoulder to remove
scar tissue, and Canty had surgery on his knee. Defensive tackle Linval Joseph (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/13281/linval-joseph) also had surgery on his
ankle.</p>


Tight ends Jake Ballard (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/13530/jake-ballard) and Travis Beckum (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/12532/travis-beckum) each underwent surgery Feb. 21
to repair torn ACLs.
</p>Coughlin said he guessed there is a seven-month minimum recovery for the two
tight ends, meaning they could start the season on the physically unable to
perform list.



"They are always a concern, because look at the date," Coughlin said at his
NFL scouting combine news conference. "Hopefully we can get them back fast.
Linval should be OK. It is a matter of some bone chips or something like
that."</p>


Coughlin said that Tuck feels better than he did before the surgery.</p>


"I think it was just scar tissue," he said of the procedure. "No labrum."</p>


After hearing what Coughlin said, Tuck tweeted: "Coach C spilled the beans.
Yes I had shoulder surg. Nothing major. Will be more than ready to defend the
title." </p>


As for Canty, Coughlin didn't offer much detail. When asked if it was a major
injury, Coughlin replied, "Anytime you have surgery, it is major."</p>


But when asked if he had any reason to believe that Canty won't be ready for
the season opener, Coughlin replied, "As I stand here, no."</p>


Tuck had battled through injuries since the preseason, starting with what was
described as a stinger. He missed four games early in the season and had to deal
with neck, groin, toe and shoulder injuries. Tuck still finished the season with
5 sacks in his last six games. </p>


Canty and Joseph, in his first year as a starter, played in every game this
season.</p>


Coughlin has several other Giants on the mend. Left tackle David Diehl (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/4618/david-diehl) had surgery on a finger on his
left hand but says he will be ready for the season. Coughlin also has two key
defensive members recovering from last year's ACL surgeries in cornerback Terrell Thomas (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/11297/terrell-thomas) and middle linebacker Jonathan Goff (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/11399/jonathan-goff).</p>


Coughlin said the two unrestricted free agents have enough time to be ready
for the season if they return. And he hopes to have both back. </p>


"All you can do is you have a plan," he said. "And the plan certainly does
include those two guys that you just mentioned. How soon or whatever, that
remains to be seen."</p>


Running back Ahmad Bradshaw (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/10693/ahmad-bradshaw), who played with a fracture
in his foot in the final nine games of the season, is not expected to need any
offseason surgery, according to Coughlin." </p>

NYG4lifeNYK
02-24-2012, 07:11 PM
Thanks Roa [B]

RoanokeFan
02-24-2012, 07:14 PM
Thanks Roa [B]


[Y]

Voldamort
02-24-2012, 07:21 PM
thanks for the info.wow 3 dline

RoanokeFan
02-24-2012, 08:08 PM
thanks for the info.wow 3 dline

Better now than after camp starts

FIFTY6G-MAN
02-24-2012, 09:48 PM
AND WHO SAYS OUR GIANTS AREN'T WARRIORS???? Playing through all that crap, plus we had someone have a major eye issue, acl's. Its a wonder we even fielded a team for the run! All I can say is even though we bash our players for sloughing once in a while and the coaches when we dont play good, these after season reports just how much our Giants wanted to play and played through major crap.........and got US and them the crown jewel of the NFL.......The Lombardi!!!

NYGRealityCheck
02-24-2012, 10:06 PM
Better to have the surgeries taken care of now than later. Best wishes to all those guys on the recovery process. Kudos to Bradshaw for not needing surgery.