PDA

View Full Version : FRANCHISE TAGS WILL START FLYING SOON



RoanokeFan
02-26-2012, 11:47 AM
FRANCHISE TAGS WILL START FLYING SOON (http://profootballtalk.nbcsports.com/2012/02/25/franchise-tags-will-start-flying-soon/related/)

"Nearly six full days into the period for applying the franchise tag, no team
has done it. One league source suggested earlier this week that teams are
holding off due to concerns that the players to be tagged haven’t been fully
informed of the fact that this year’s franchise tenders will be <a href="http://profootballtalk.nbcsports.com/2012/02/19/franchise-tenders-shrink-under-new-cba/">considerably
lower than last year’s numbers</a>, given the new formula for calculating the
amounts.


The theory is that the agents have yet to explain the situation to the
players, hopeful that a long-term deal can be negotiated and/or that the team in
question will decide not to use the tag on the player. (In the case of Packers
tight end <a class="nameLink" href="http://www.rotoworld.com/player/nfl/4717/jermichael-finley">Jermichael
Finley</a>, a two-year contract avoided a $4 million fight over whether he’s
actually a tight end.)</p>


But nine days remain before the tag window closes, and Adam Schefter of ESPN
reports that several specific players will have their ability to hit the open
market limited by the tag.</p>


They are: Falcons cornerback Brent Grimes (http://www.rotoworld.com/player/nfl/4562/brent-grimes),
Patriots receiver Wes Welker (http://www.rotoworld.com/player/nfl/2964/wes-welker),
Chiefs receiver Dwayne Bowe (http://www.rotoworld.com/player/nfl/4184/dwayne-bowe)
(pictured), Eagles receiver <a class="nameLink" href="http://www.rotoworld.com/player/nfl/4659/desean-jackson">DeSean
Jackson</a>, 49ers safety <a class="nameLink" href="http://www.rotoworld.com/player/nfl/4444/dashon-goldson">Dashon
Goldson</a>, Cardinals defensive end Calais Cambpell, and Saints quarterback <a class="nameLink" href="http://www.rotoworld.com/player/nfl/591/drew-brees">Drew
Brees</a>.</p>


It’s widely believed that, if the Saints and Brees can work out a long-term
deal, the Saints will use the franchise tag on guard Carl Nicks (http://www.rotoworld.com/player/nfl/4828/carl-nicks).</p>


Schefter’s list of definites omits include several other prime candidates.
If the Ravens and running back Ray Rice (http://www.rotoworld.com/player/nfl/4645/ray-rice) don’t work
out a long-term deal, Rice undoubtedly will be tagged. Coach John Harbaugh
essentially confirmed this at the Scouting Combine, saying that Rice will “<a href="http://articles.baltimoresun.com/2012-02-24/sports/bal-harbaugh-doesnt-expect-rice-to-hold-out-says-ravens-are-preparing-offer-for-grubbs-20120224_1_ravens-coach-john-harbaugh-ray-rice">be
making franchise-tag numbers, at least</a>.” Also, the Seahawks are expected to
tag running back <a class="nameLink" href="http://www.rotoworld.com/player/nfl/4186/marshawn-lynch">Marshawn
Lynch</a>, absent a long-term deal. Ditto for the Bears and running back <a class="nameLink" href="http://www.rotoworld.com/player/nfl/4685/matt-forte">Matt
Forte</a>.</p>


There are more. It has been reported that the Redskins will tag tight end <a class="nameLink" href="http://www.rotoworld.com/player/nfl/4716/fred-davis">Fred
Davis</a>, notwithstanding his four-game suspension for smoking something that
has more than four leaves. Browns linebacker <a class="nameLink" href="http://www.rotoworld.com/player/nfl/3669/dqwell-jackson">D’Qwell
Jackson</a> can expect the tag if he doesn’t do a new deal, and the Cowboys
could decide to use the tag on linebacker <a class="nameLink" href="http://www.rotoworld.com/player/nfl/4205/anthony-spencer">Anthony
Spencer</a>. There are conflicting reports on whether the Bills will use the
tag on receiver <a class="nameLink" href="http://www.rotoworld.com/player/nfl/4962/stevie-johnson">Stevie
Johnson</a>. The Lions are expected to tag defensive end Cliff Avril (http://www.rotoworld.com/player/nfl/4834/cliff-avril), if
they can’t work out a new contract.</p>


Kickers will get in on the action, too. Matt Prater (http://www.rotoworld.com/player/nfl/4502/matt-prater) of
the Broncos, Connor Barth (http://www.rotoworld.com/player/nfl/5048/connor-barth) of
the Buccaneers, and Josh Scobee (http://www.rotoworld.com/player/nfl/2842/josh-scobee) of
the Jaguars are expected to be tagged absent new deals.</p>


In Houston, tagging <a class="nameLink" href="http://www.rotoworld.com/player/nfl/3636/mario-williams">Mario
Williams</a> would result in a cap number that exceeds $21 million. Thus, the
Texas are more likely to use it, if at all, on running back Arian Foster (http://www.rotoworld.com/player/nfl/5469/arian-foster), a
restricted free agent who otherwise could be had for a single first-round
pick.</p>


Other possibilities remain. Though it has been reported that the Packers
aren’t likely to use the tag on quarterback Matt Flynn (http://www.rotoworld.com/player/nfl/4949/matt-flynn), the
Packers can decide to pull a Matt Cassel (http://www.rotoworld.com/player/nfl/3237/matt-cassel) with
Aaron Rodgers (http://www.rotoworld.com/player/nfl/3118/aaron-rodgers)‘
backup at any time before the deadline comes. It also has been reported that
the Chargers have told receiver <a class="nameLink" href="http://www.rotoworld.com/player/nfl/3202/vincent-jackson">Vincent
Jackson</a> that use of the tag is “improbable.”</p>


It’s not improbable that we’ll have plenty of additional stories regarding
players who are or may be or won’t be or haven’t been tagged between now and
March 5."</p>

Voldamort
02-26-2012, 12:08 PM
just don't see the G-MEN tagging anybody this year?

NYGRealityCheck
02-26-2012, 12:48 PM
Weatherford has a 25% (i made that up) chance of being tagged. That's as close as you'll get for the Giants.