PDA

View Full Version : LaRon Landry joins Jets



swimeasy
03-19-2012, 04:57 PM
The New York Jets (http://espn.go.com/nfl/team/_/name/nyj/new-york-jets) have agreed to a one-year deal with former Washington Redskins (http://espn.go.com/nfl/team/_/name/wsh/washington-redskins) safety LaRon Landry (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/10451/laron-landry), the team announced Monday.</p>


The deal is for one year and $4 million, a league source told ESPN NFL Insider Adam Schefter.</p><div class="mod-container mod-no-footer mod-inline content-box floatright mod-no-header-footer"><div class="mod-content">

Tying the safety position to LaRon Landry is a risky proposition for the
Jets, but it'd be foolish to deny the potential rewards, writes Rich
Cimini. Blog (http://espn.go.com/blog/new-york/jets/post/_/id/11159/analysis-landry-a-risk-reward-signing)
</p>
</div>
</div>


The Jets were running out of options in a safety market that
had already lost three players to franchise tags. They made an offer to Reggie Nelson (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/1894/reggie-nelson), but he opted to re-sign Sunday with the Cincinnati Bengals (http://espn.go.com/nfl/team/_/name/cin/cincinnati-bengals). The Jets also showed interest in Brandon Meriweather (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/10468/brandon-meriweather), who signed with the Redskins last week.</p>

Landry,
the No. 6 overall pick in 2007, missed 15 games over the last two
seasons because of an Achilles-tendon issue. He reportedly was told by
the Redskins to have surgery to remove bone spurs from the tendon area,
but he opted for alternative medicine procedures.</p>

The Redskins didn't make a strong push to re-sign him, opting for Meriweather. Landry also visited with the Patriots.</p>

With Eric Smith (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/8187/eric-smith) the only experienced safety under contract, the Jets wanted to fortify the position before the draft. </p>

Former starter Jim Leonhard (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/9266/jim-leonhard), only three months removed from major knee surgery, is a free agent -- but a return isn't out of the question. Brodney Pool (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/8448/brodney-pool), who replaced Leonhard in the lineup, signed a free-agent contract with the Dallas Cowboys (http://espn.go.com/nfl/team/_/name/dal/dallas-cowboys).</p>

The
Jets want a playmaker at safety, as their safeties combined for only
two interceptions last season. They also struggled in pass coverage
against tight ends. However, Landry isn't known for his pass coverage;
he has only four interceptions in five seasons.</p>

The 6-foot, 220-pound Landry is better around the line
of scrimmage, a physical tackler that should improve the Jets' run
defense. He has six forced fumbles and 5 sacks for his career.</p>

Landry
was on his way to becoming a premier safety when he was sidelined by a
strained Achilles tendon in 2010. The injury forced him to miss the
final seven games. Rather than surgery, recommended by the team, he
received platelet-rich plasma treatments.</p>

After missing the first
two games of the 2011 season with a hamstring injury, Landry came back
strong and started to flash his old form, but he went down with an
injured groin. Some believe it may have stemmed from the
still-troublesome Achilles tendon. Once again, the team recommended
surgery. He opted for stem-cell treatment.</p>

Landry said in late January that he expected to be 100 percent by free agency in March.</p>


</p>

http://espn.go.com/new-york/nfl/story/_/id/7710169/2012-nfl-free-agency-new-york-jets-laron-landry-agree-one-year-deal
</p>

GmenFan1980
03-19-2012, 05:03 PM
http://www.mediabistro.com/agencyspy/files/original/yay.jpg

NYfanatic
03-19-2012, 11:50 PM
He is now too slow to play S. Good job jets a slow backfield.

w_mann5
03-22-2012, 02:52 AM
Landry is a head case. Built like Tarzan, plays like Jane. He needs to go ahead and have that achilles surgery.