PDA

View Full Version : NEW YORK GIANTS 2012 FREE AGENCY UPDATE: WHERE THINGS STAND



RoanokeFan
03-20-2012, 01:36 PM
NEW YORK GIANTS 2012 FREE AGENCY UPDATE: WHERE THINGS STAND (http://www.bigblueview.com/2012/3/20/2887504/new-york-giants-2012-free-agency-update-where-things-stand)

"I did a brief look at the New York Giants (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/teams/new-york-giants)'
free agency situation over at SB Nation New York this morning. Because you guys
are special I am giving you the expanded version, which includes a comment on
every player.



</p><p class="extend-divide"><a name="storyjump"></a>http://cdn1.sbnation.com/images/blog/star-divide.v5e9d7f1.jpg</p>


Welcome To New York
TE Martellus Bennett ... Great low-risk,
low-cost, high-reward signing. If Bennett bombs, no harm, no foul and the Giants
move on. If he blossoms the Giants could find themselves a quality tight end for
the next few seasons.
S Chris Horton (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/34509/chris-horton)
-- Maybe a special teams guy, nothing more.
T <a class="sbn-auto-link" href="http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/109639/joel-reinders">Joel
Reinders</a> -- Most likely a camp body.
TE Larry Donnell -- Camp body. Need
enough tight ends to practice.</p>


Exclusive rights free agents
TE Jake Ballard (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/108531/jake-ballard)
- Re-signed. ... Hopefully he gets healthy and contributes during the latter
part of the season.
TE Bear Pascoe - Will return. ... Love the Bear. Nobody
else can have him.</p>


Restricted free agents
CB Bruce Johnson (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/71708/bruce-johnson)
- Re-signed. ... Missed two years now, so don't expect much.</p>


Unrestricted free agents
CB Will Blackmon (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/1925/will-blackmon)
... Umm, bye-bye Blackmon?
CB Michael Coe (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/19061/michael-coe) -
Re-signed. ... Might be a better player than we have really seen.
CB Aaron Ross (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/16782/aaron-ross) -
Signed with Jacksonville ... Rip him if you want, but he has two Super Bowl
rings.
CB <a class="sbn-auto-link" href="http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/34498/terrell-thomas">Terrell
Thomas</a> - Re-signed. ... Hopefully he can return and play at the same level
he did in 2010.
CB Justin Tryon (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/34517/justin-tryon) -
Re-signed. ... A BBV favorite. Glad he is sticking around.
DE <a class="sbn-auto-link" href="http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/1984/dave-tollefson">Dave
Tollefson</a> ... Not coming back. A fan favorite, but replaceable.
DT Rocky Bernard (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/2289/rocky-bernard)
... Might be back. Insurance, again, for <a class="sbn-auto-link" href="http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/130945/marvin-austin">Marvin
Austin</a>.
DT Jimmy Kennedy (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/3232/jimmy-kennedy)
... Don't let the door hit ya, big man!
LB <a class="sbn-auto-link" href="http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/2207/chase-blackburn">Chase
Blackburn</a> ... Back to the couch for Blackburn?
LB Jonathan Goff (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/34490/jonathan-goff)
... Returning at the Giants price? We will have to wait and see.
OT Stacy Andrews (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/2557/stacy-andrews)
... If he is healthy, bring him back.
OT <a class="sbn-auto-link" href="http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/2236/kareem-mckenzie">Kareem
McKenzie</a> ... Hope you find a job elsewhere, Kareem.
OT Tony Ugoh (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/19074/tony-ugoh) -- Does
anybody other Ugoh care one way or the other?
P <a class="sbn-auto-link" href="http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/2063/steve-weatherford">Steve
Weatherford</a> - Re-signed ... Thank God for that.
S Deon Grant (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/2433/deon-grant) ...
Best guess is he will be moving on or retiring.
S <a class="sbn-auto-link" href="http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/1408/derrick-martin">Derrick
Martin</a> ... Won't be back.
QB David Carr (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/2711/david-carr) -
Re-signed. ... Looks great in a baseball cap, and we hope that's the only way we
ever see him.
WR Michael Clayton ... Hard worker, but there isn't a spot for
him.
WR Domenik Hixon (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/2934/domenik-hixon)
- Re-signed. ... If he still has the burst he can still help the Giants as a
receiver.
WR <a class="sbn-auto-link" href="http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/34493/mario-manningham">Mario
Manningham</a> - Signed with <a class="sbn-auto-link" href="http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/teams/san-francisco-49ers">San Francisco
49ers</a>. So, Mario, who is going to throw you the ball in San Fran?
WR Devin Thomas (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/34516/devin-thomas)
-- Should be brought back."</p>

nygsb42champs
03-20-2012, 01:45 PM
To me the best signing for us so far is Weatherford. He made our ST's special again.

Medisleman
03-20-2012, 02:49 PM
Where is Jacobs on this list?

JesseJames
03-20-2012, 05:18 PM
I hope we bring back Devin Thomas because the kid has talent and 4.4 speed...

Tommy3rd
03-20-2012, 08:51 PM
Where is Jacobs on this list?

the list is for free agents (restricted, unrestricted, exclusive rights). Jacobs was "released", but I guess you can count him.

GiantLegend
03-21-2012, 10:23 PM
I'm glad Johnson is back, I liked what I saw from him.

And before Hixon went down with that injury he was playing really well, making some great catches. I hope to see him to return to that form and stay injury free.

I've always liked Hixon.

I also would enjoy seeing Clayton back on the team. I don't think he saw as much of the field as he deserved. I know he hasn't lived up to his full potential in Tampa Bay or here, but I'd like to see an opportunity for him to get some playing time.