PDA

View Full Version : NFL FREE AGENCY 2012: ANY MORE MOVES FOR THE GIANTS?



RoanokeFan
03-24-2012, 12:08 PM
NFL FREE AGENCY 2012: ANY MORE MOVES FOR THE GIANTS? (http://www.bigblueview.com/2012/3/24/2899396/nfl-free-agency-2012-new-york-giants-martellus-bennett-brandon-jacobs)

"The New York Giants (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/teams/new-york-giants)
likely made their biggest 2012 NFL Free Agency splash when they signed former Dallas Cowboys (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/teams/dallas-cowboys) tight
end Martellus Bennett. Other than working to re-sign a few of their own players,
are there any moves left for the Giants to make.<div class="entry-body">


Check out this position-by-position list of remaining free agents (http://walterfootball.com/freeagents.php) and let me
know if there is anyone on the list who intrigues you. Remember that the Giants
don't have a lot of cap room, so anyone they bring in will likely have to be on
a low-budget type deal.</p>
<p class="extend-divide"><a name="storyjump"></a>http://cdn1.sbnation.com/images/blog/star-divide.v5e9d7f1.jpg</p>


Welcome To New York
TE Martellus Bennett ... Great low-risk,
low-cost, high-reward signing. If Bennett bombs, no harm, no foul and the Giants
move on. If he blossoms the Giants could find themselves a quality tight end for
the next few seasons.
S Chris Horton (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/34509/chris-horton)
-- Maybe a special teams guy, nothing more.
T <a class="sbn-auto-link" href="http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/109639/joel-reinders">Joel
Reinders</a> -- Most likely a camp body.
TE Larry Donnell -- Camp body. Need
enough tight ends to practice.</p>


Exclusive rights free agents
TE Jake Ballard (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/108531/jake-ballard)
- Re-signed. ... Hopefully he gets healthy and contributes during the latter
part of the season.
TE Bear Pascoe - Will return. ... Love the Bear. Nobody
else can have him.</p>


Restricted free agents
CB Bruce Johnson (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/71708/bruce-johnson)
- Re-signed. ... Missed two years now, so don't expect much.</p>


Unrestricted free agents
CB Will Blackmon (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/1925/will-blackmon)
... Umm, bye-bye Blackmon?
CB Michael Coe (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/19061/michael-coe) -
Re-signed. ... Might be a better player than we have really seen.
<strike>CB
Aaron Ross (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/16782/aaron-ross) -
Signed with Jacksonville ... Rip him if you want, but he has two Super Bowl
rings.</strike>
CB <a class="sbn-auto-link" href="http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/34498/terrell-thomas">Terrell
Thomas</a> - Re-signed. ... Hopefully he can return and play at the same level
he did in 2010.
CB Justin Tryon (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/34517/justin-tryon) -
Re-signed. ... A BBV favorite. Glad he is sticking around.
DE <a class="sbn-auto-link" href="http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/1984/dave-tollefson">Dave
Tollefson</a> ... Unlikely to return. A fan favorite, but replaceable.
DT Rocky Bernard (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/2289/rocky-bernard)
... Might be back. Insurance, again, for <a class="sbn-auto-link" href="http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/130945/marvin-austin">Marvin
Austin</a>.
DT Jimmy Kennedy (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/3232/jimmy-kennedy)
... Don't let the door hit ya, big man!
LB <a class="sbn-auto-link" href="http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/2207/chase-blackburn">Chase
Blackburn</a> ... Back to the couch for Blackburn?
LB Jonathan Goff (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/34490/jonathan-goff)
... Returning at the Giants price? We will have to wait and see.
OT Stacy Andrews (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/2557/stacy-andrews)
... If he is healthy, bring him back.
OT <a class="sbn-auto-link" href="http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/2236/kareem-mckenzie">Kareem
McKenzie</a> ... Hope you find a job elsewhere, Kareem.
OT Tony Ugoh (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/19074/tony-ugoh) -- Does
anybody other Ugoh care one way or the other?
P <a class="sbn-auto-link" href="http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/2063/steve-weatherford">Steve
Weatherford</a> - Re-signed ... Thank God for that.
S Deon Grant (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/2433/deon-grant) ...
Best guess is he will be moving on or retiring.
S <a class="sbn-auto-link" href="http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/1408/derrick-martin">Derrick
Martin</a> ... Won't be back.
QB David Carr (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/2711/david-carr) -
Re-signed. ... Looks great in a baseball cap, and we hope that's the only way we
ever see him.
WR Michael Clayton ... Hard worker, but there isn't a spot for
him.
WR Domenik Hixon (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/2934/domenik-hixon)
- Re-signed. ... If he still has the burst he can still help the Giants as a
receiver.
<strike>WR <a class="sbn-auto-link" href="http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/34493/mario-manningham">Mario
Manningham</a> - Signed with <a class="sbn-auto-link" href="http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/teams/san-francisco-49ers">San Francisco
49ers</a>. So, Mario, who is going to throw you the ball in San
Fran?</strike>
WR Devin Thomas (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/34516/devin-thomas)
-- Should be brought back."</p></div>

NYGRealityCheck
03-24-2012, 12:10 PM
Here's Steve Weatherford's contract for those interested. Very decent.

http://www.spotrac.com/nfl/new-york-giants/steve-weatherford/

By the way, Brandon Jacobs needs to be added to that unrestricted free agent list, now that he's been released. We're hoping for him to come back for less money.

Gmenfan87
03-24-2012, 01:38 PM
Giants do a good job of keeping the players they have and like. During the SB I remember them saying that only 3 or 4 patriots we're still on the team from the pervious meeting 4 years ago while the Giants had a significantly higher number.

Grass always looks greener on the other side when looking at free agents but consistency and being in a system for a couple of years is often underrated.

ashaddyt2269
03-24-2012, 03:20 PM
Please stop with all the Jacobs love the guy is a scrub who could not pick up 1 and 2 yard gains when needed. The Giants offered him to much we will pick up a rb in the draft period. Nuf Said...../

NYG4lifeNYK
03-24-2012, 03:45 PM
Please stop with all the Jacobs love the guy is a scrub who could not pick up 1 and 2 yard gains when needed. The Giants offered him to much we will pick up a rb in the draft period. Nuf Said...../

LOL...... so ignorant wow