PDA

View Full Version : TOM BRADY, DENVER BRONCOS HEADLINE OTA'S STARTING THIS WEEK



RoanokeFan
05-20-2012, 05:30 PM
TOM BRADY, DENVER BRONCOS HEADLINE OTA'S STARTING THIS WEEK (http://www.nfl.com/news/story/09000d5d82939648/article/tom-brady-denver-broncos-headline-otas-starting-this-week)

"Nine teams will begin voluntary organized team activities Monday, including
Tom Brady (/players/tombrady/profile?id=BRA371156) and the New England Patriots (/teams/newenglandpatriots/profile?team=NE), while
17 hit the field Tuesday.


The Denver Broncos (/teams/denverbroncos/profile?team=DEN) begin camp on
Monday with many eager to see how the team's new offense will run under Peyton Manning (/players/peytonmanning/profile?id=MAN515097). It's not
yet known if the veteran QB will be in attendance.</p>


Many are eager to get a look at how much New England Patriots second-year
cornerback Ras-I Dowling (/players/ras-idowling/profile?id=DOW584478) has progressed (http://espn.go.com/blog/boston/new-england-patriots/post/_/id/4722485/quick-hit-thoughts-around-nfl-pats-104) since undergoing hip surgery, according to ESPN
Boston. Tom Brady will also be in attendance.
</p> Andrew Luck won't be in town when the Indianapolis Colts (/teams/indianapoliscolts/profile?team=IND) begin
OTAs Tuesday. The No. 1 overall pick still has to finish his classes at Stanford
before he's eligible to join the team, the Tribune-Star reports (http://tribstar.com/colts/x1647276658/Colts-working-on-rebuilding-as-Luck-finishes-at-Stanford).


Notably missing (http://www.post-gazette.com/stories/sports/steelers/wallace-top-picks-to-miss-steelers-otas-636719/) from the Pittsburgh Steelers (/teams/pittsburghsteelers/profile?team=PIT)' OTAs
Tuesday will be receiver Mike Wallace, who still hasn't signed his franchise
tender, the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette reports. Two top draft picks, guard David
DeCastro and tackle Mike Adams, will also be absent because they've yet finish
classes.</p>


Tampa Bay Buccaneers (/teams/tampabaybuccaneers/profile?team=TB) wide
receiver Mike Williams looks to bounce back after a sub-par 2011 season, and
he's honing his craft (http://www2.tbo.com/sports/bucs/2012/may/19/3/williams-learning-from-new-teammate-jackson-ar-405790/) with his newest teammate, Vincent Jackson (/players/vincentjackson/profile?id=JAC627460), whom
the team signed in free agency, the Tampa Tribune reports.</p>


Despite having the league's fourth-best passing attack last season in yards
per game (300.9), the Detroit Lions (/teams/detroitlions/profile?team=DET) were fourth-worst
running the ball with 95.2 yards per game. Nonetheless, running back Kevin Smith
thinks the "<a id="yui_3_4_1_2_1337549224125_938" href="http://www.nfl.com/goto?id=09000d5d82938c32" target="_top">sky's the
limit</a>" for the Lions ground attack as the team hopes Jahvid Best (/players/jahvidbest/profile?id=BES682260) and Mikel Leshoure (/players/mikelleshoure/profile?id=LES202930) rebound
from injuries.</p>


Backup quarterback Chase Daniel (/players/chasedaniel/profile?id=DAN230354) will be taking
first-team snaps (http://www.sunherald.com/2012/05/19/3958216/daniel-eager-to-work-with-saints.html) for the New Orleans Saints (/teams/neworleanssaints/profile?team=NO) on Tuesday
as Drew Brees (/players/drewbrees/profile?id=BRE229498) stays away from
OTAs unhappy without a long-term contract, The Associated Press reports. In
three years with the team, Daniel has completed six passes on eight attempts for
45 yards and zero touchdowns."</p>

firstgamein49
05-27-2012, 07:15 PM
As a vet, I think it's in very poor taste to begin anything on Memorial Day. Why not Tuesday?

spags4prez
05-27-2012, 07:34 PM
This thread is a week old. OTAs started last Monday, not tomorrow.


Thank you for your service!

firstgamein49
06-03-2012, 05:12 PM
MY BAD! Didn't notice the date on OP's post! Now this reply is really timely, right?