PDA

View Full Version : NFC EAST'S "DYNAMIC DUOS"



RoanokeFan
07-02-2012, 01:49 PM
NFC EAST'S "DYNAMIC DUOS" (http://espn.go.com/blog/nfceast/post/_/id/40539/nfc-easts-dynamic-duos)

Excerpt: "Our man Gary Horton listed his top 10 "dynamic duos (http://insider.espn.go.com/nfl/story/_/id/8111658/nfl-cam-newton-steve-smith-most-dynamic-duos-nfc)" http://assets.espn.go.com/icons/in.gif in the NFC last
week. It's an Insider piece, so all I can really tell you is that Philadelphia Eagles (http://espn.go.com/nfl/team/_/name/phi/philadelphia-eagles) defensive ends Trent Cole (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/8560/trent-cole) and Jason Babin (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/5552/jason-babin), who combined for 29 sacks
last year, ranked second on the list and <a href="http://espn.go.com/nfl/team/_/name/nyg/new-york-giants" target="_new">New
York Giants</a> defensive ends Justin Tuck (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/8488/justin-tuck) and Jason Pierre-Paul (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/13256/jason-pierre-paul) ranked ninth. My
innate knowledge of the inner workings of the minds of my readers tells me that
a percentage of you are already furious about this disparity and are suggesting
that Horton be institutionalized.

Me? I think I'd rank the Giants' ends
ahead of the Eagles' ends, but it's extremely close, and the key thing to
remember is that these are four elite pass-rushers and the only four represented
at all on Gary's list. If you had the second pick in a pass-rushing-duo draft,
you'd be pretty fired up to know you were getting one of these two.

But
anyway, that's all for my effort to impart perspective where it's often
unwelcome. I'd rather move on, and examine the topic of "dymanic duos" more
deeply as it pertains to the NFC East. I've got one for each team (other than
the ones Gary picked) that fits the description of current dynamic duo and one
duo that each team hopes can be the new dynamic duo of 2012.

New York Giants

Currently: Wide
receivers Hakeem Nicks (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/12586/hakeem-nicks) and Victor Cruz (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/13553/victor-cruz). They combined for 158
catches, 2,728 and 16 touchdowns last year in the regular season alone. The only
other team with two players in the top 12 in receiving yards for 2011 was the New England Patriots (http://espn.go.com/nfl/team/_/name/ne/new-england-patriots), and one of their guys was a tight end.


Hopefully: Running backs Ahmad Bradshaw (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/10693/ahmad-bradshaw) and David Wilson (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/14887/david-wilson). The Giants' first hope for
their running game in 2012 is that Bradshaw can keep his feet healthy. Their
second is that the offensive line has a better year blocking for him. And their
third is that someone emerge from their group of relatively inexperienced backs
to take the place of Brandon Jacobs (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/8524/brandon-jacobs) as Bradshaw's backup.
They'd love it to be first-round pick Wilson, who has excellent speed and would
provide a nice change of pace on the edge to complement Bradshaw's tough running
style. But like Claiborne in the Cowboys' section, he has to show he can handle
the pro game." Read more...

Diamondring
07-02-2012, 02:46 PM
Interesting.

Mercury
07-02-2012, 03:45 PM
There's some more disrespect for you. So, if Cole and Babin, Tuck and JPP are both dynamic duos. Why is it that the duo that did not make the playoffs ranked ahead of the one that won the SB? Must be regular season sack totals.

<font color="#FF0000">Brilliant. Because we all know that is the crowning achievement sack totals represents. And it only shows just how bad the rest of the Dream team must be since they are keeping the best DE combo in the NFL from making the playoffs.
</font>

TuckYou
07-02-2012, 04:30 PM
Both are solid sack duo's, but Id take our homegrown beasts rather then the guys in green.