PDA

View Full Version : VICTOR CRUZ A BARGAIN NOW, BUT MAYBE NOT IN 2013



RoanokeFan
07-16-2012, 04:04 PM
VICTOR CRUZ A BARGAIN NOW, BUT MAYBE NOT IN 2013 (http://www.nfl.com/news/story/09000d5d82a95b70/article/victor-cruz-a-bargain-now-but-maybe-not-in-2013)

"Adjusted Cap Number: $122.743 million


Cap Room Remaining: $3.119 million</p>


Best Bargain: In what might be the biggest no-brainer in this entire
series, wide receiver Victor Cruz (/players/victorcruz/profile?id=CRU827288) was the best
bargain on the New York Giants' roster last year and, barring an extension this
season, will be one again in 2012. Cruz is coming off a breakout season in which
he <a id="yui_3_5_0_1_1342464948453_1216" href="http://www.nfl.com/stats/categorystats?tabSeq=0&amp;season=2011&amp;seasonType=REG&amp; d-447263-n=1&amp;d-447263-o=2&amp;d-447263-p=1&amp;conference=null&amp;statisticCategory=RECEIVING&amp;d-447263-s=RECEIVING_RECEPTIONS">ranked
ninth in the NFL</a> with 82 passes for 1,536 receiving yards, the <a id="yui_3_5_0_1_1342464948453_1217" href="http://www.nfl.com/stats/categorystats?tabSeq=0&amp;season=2011&amp;seasonType=REG&amp; d-447263-n=1&amp;d-447263-o=2&amp;d-447263-p=1&amp;statisticCategory=RECEIVING&amp;conference=null&amp;d-447263-s=RECEIVING_YARDS">third-highest
total in the league</a>. Cruz was also <a id="yui_3_5_0_1_1342464948453_1218" href="http://www.nfl.com/stats/categorystats?tabSeq=0&amp;season=2011&amp;seasonType=REG&amp; d-447263-n=1&amp;d-447263-o=2&amp;d-447263-p=1&amp;statisticCategory=RECEIVING&amp;conference=null&amp;d-447263-s=RECEIVING_TOUCHDOWNS">tied
for sixth</a> with nine receiving touchdowns, while earning a $450,000 base
salary. Cruz added another 21 receptions for 269 yards in the playoffs,
including <a id="yui_3_5_0_1_1342464948453_1219" href="http://www.nfl.com/goto?id=09000d5d826a9d11">a touchdown in the Super
Bowl</a>, attaining another $172,000 in playoff earnings. This season, Cruz will
earn $540,000 in base salary and will be a restricted free agent next
offseason.</p>


Potential Camp Casualty: The Giants did some salary cap housekeeping
earlier this offseason, restructuring the contracts of David Diehl (/players/daviddiehl/profile?id=DIE145930), David Baas (/players/davidbaas/profile?id=BAA738296) and Eli Manning (/players/elimanning/profile?id=MAN473170) to free up
space. They also came through with new contracts for Osi Umenyiora (/players/osiumenyiora/profile?id=UME444955) and Mathias Kiwanuka (/players/mathiaskiwanuka/profile?id=KIW059326).
Several high-priced veterans either over or approaching 30 years old remain, but
are too valuable on the field to part ways with. Corey Webster (/players/coreywebster/profile?id=WEB558045) is the
team's best cornerback and, after all the injuries at the position a year ago,
the Giants are not going to release him to save $6.5 million in cap space. Antrel Rolle (/players/antrelrolle/profile?id=ROL403288), Chris Snee (/players/chrissnee/profile?id=SNE230934), Michael Boley (/players/michaelboley/profile?id=BOL343936) and Justin Tuck (/players/justintuck/profile?id=TUC056287) should be safe,
too.</p>


One possible casualty is Chris Canty, whose release would save $6 million in
cap space this season and $6.5 million in 2013. For that to happen, 2011
second-round pick Marvin Austin (/players/marvinaustin/profile?id=AUS456698), who spent
all of last season on injured reserve with a torn pectoral muscle, would have to
prove he's up for a big role this season. The club would also need to see much
more than they've already seen from veterans Rocky Bernard (/players/rockybernard/profile?id=BER235952) and Shaun Rogers (/players/shaunrogers/profile?id=ROG535048) to part ways
with a known commodity like Canty, who remains solid against the run.</p>


Contract Issue Looming In 2013: With Cruz set to become a restricted
free agent in 2013, the Giants could have a Mike Wallace situation on their
hands. The Pittsburgh Steelers (/teams/pittsburghsteelers/profile?team=PIT) rolled
the dice and opted to not place the franchise tag on Wallace, who has yet to
sign his tender and skipped the offseason workouts. The Giants could follow
suit, but you never know when another team might decide a first-round pick is
worth the gamble of signing Cruz to an offer sheet.</p>
Giants general manager Jerry Reese might also have decisions to make on the
high-priced veterans over 30 from the section above. Those players are all under
contract for next season and are not getting any cheaper or younger. The biggest
issue, however, might be quarterback Eli Manning, whose restructured contract
will call for a $13 million base salary and $20.85 million cap number in 2013.
With the salary cap projected to be worth around $121 million in 2013, Manning
is set to comprise 17.2 percent of the team's non-adjusted cap figure."

MikeIsaGiant
07-16-2012, 04:06 PM
Yeah, next year is going to be a little crazy with the cap space.

And I'mr eally looking forward to have Cruz/Nicks here still

Diamondring
07-16-2012, 07:07 PM
I hate to see you go Osi.