PDA

View Full Version : GIANTS get good news on Marvin Austin



RoanokeFan
08-16-2012, 03:24 PM
LINK (http://www.bigblueview.com/2012/8/16/3247502/new-york-giants-marvin-austin-injury-report-nfl-preseason-chris-canty-shaun-rogers#storyjump)

Excerpt: "The New York Giants (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/teams/new-york-giants) have lost defensive tackles Shaun Rogers and Martin Parker (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/131213/martin-parker) for the season. Chris Canty (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/3394/chris-canty)is still not available. The team is bringing in new tackles by the truckload, having signed Carlton Powell (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/34977/carlton-powell), Oren Wilson and Bobby Skinner (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/162225/bobby-skinner) within the last 24 hours. A fourth new defensive tackle, former Denver Broncos (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/teams/denver-broncos)lineman Marcus Thomas, was working out at the Timex Performance Center Thursday.

So, you can understand head coach Tom Coughlin's angst earlier this week when he was talking about defensive tackle Marvin Austin (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/130945/marvin-austin), who had to be sent to the Hospital For Special Surgery in Manhattan for tests on his back.
"Iím praying that when the phone call comes, itís a good one," Coughlin said on Tuesday.

Turns out that it was a good one. Austin said today that he had just been "having a little backache" and that tests show he should be OK." Read more...

JB456
08-16-2012, 04:11 PM
LINK (http://www.bigblueview.com/2012/8/16/3247502/new-york-giants-marvin-austin-injury-report-nfl-preseason-chris-canty-shaun-rogers#storyjump)

Excerpt: "The New York Giants (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/teams/new-york-giants) have lost defensive tackles Shaun Rogers and Martin Parker (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/131213/martin-parker) for the season. Chris Canty (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/3394/chris-canty)is still not available. The team is bringing in new tackles by the truckload, having signed Carlton Powell (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/34977/carlton-powell), Oren Wilson and Bobby Skinner (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/162225/bobby-skinner) within the last 24 hours. A fourth new defensive tackle, former Denver Broncos (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/teams/denver-broncos)lineman Marcus Thomas, was working out at the Timex Performance Center Thursday.

So, you can understand head coach Tom Coughlin's angst earlier this week when he was talking about defensive tackle Marvin Austin (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/130945/marvin-austin), who had to be sent to the Hospital For Special Surgery in Manhattan for tests on his back.
"Iím praying that when the phone call comes, itís a good one," Coughlin said on Tuesday.

Turns out that it was a good one. Austin said today that he had just been "having a little backache" and that tests show he should be OK." Read more...



The Lord has answered our prayers!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wZDzqOZ98Iw

jomo
08-16-2012, 05:48 PM
I'd love to see him back in action this week-end but that may be a little too aggressive.

miked1958
08-16-2012, 05:51 PM
Bout time we got some good news. Now the kid has to show us something

BigBlueAllDay
08-16-2012, 05:52 PM
Having him play against the Jets on Saturday may be rushing it. In addition if Austin is out for that game, it's just more playing time for players like DT Dwayne Hendricks to show the coaches that he wants to make the regular season roster for the team. Win-win situation.

Captain Chaos
08-16-2012, 06:17 PM
Can't wait to see him get back into the swing of things, we will need some high energy from that position.