PDA

View Full Version : Just saw something on Shaun Rogers on ESPN Ticker

miked1958
08-21-2012, 07:40 PM
Tom Coughlin says there is now a ray of hope that he may play again this season. Was thought to be out for year with the blood clot. Interesting. Didn't see anything on this in first two pages of threads. Could be good news

derekunion28
08-21-2012, 07:42 PM
wow if true great news....he worked his *** offf to lose weight

Jppallday
08-21-2012, 07:43 PM
Obviously we would all love to have him back I just hope he takes care of his health first. He's a big dude even after the weight loss

RoanokeFan
08-21-2012, 08:04 PM
There's a blurb about it in the daily news thread.

NyGiantsfan75
08-21-2012, 09:49 PM
Man I hope he is ok, we need that big guy.

Medisleman
08-21-2012, 10:19 PM
Hey guys as a physician I can tell you that the problem is that Shaun is on a blood thinner to try to get rid of the clot in his leg (known as a DVT, deep vein thrombosis). Typically it requires therapy from 3 to 6 months, and it would be dangerous (he could bleed) to play football.

My guess is that it may not be as serious as previously thought and that the clot is in a small vein in the lower leg. If this is the case it could be treated with less serious medications (aspirin) is a possibility and he could return quickly.

I hope this is true because if he truly had a DVT it could mean he has a condition that could be career ending.

miked1958
08-21-2012, 10:29 PM