PDA

View Full Version : Not a TD? Refresh my memory.



TrueBlue10
09-21-2012, 12:20 AM
So, on that punt, their guy (#15 I believe) muffs the catch, our guy picks it up and runs in to the end zone. The TV graphic flashes "TOUCHDOWN!" and I certainly thought it was.

Then turns out the TD never happened and we got the ball where our guy picked it up. Why is that? Can the kicking team not advance punts???

BlueSanta
09-21-2012, 12:21 AM
No, you cannot advance a muffed punt. It would have been better had he caught the punt and then fumbled it.

TrueBlue10
09-21-2012, 12:23 AM
It would have been better had he caught the punt and then fumbled it.

ahhhh got it. Thanks, friend!!

CowboysSuck
09-21-2012, 12:28 AM
Or, even if he waived for a fair catch, got out of the way, and then the ball bounced back into him, we could advance it. Yettt if he 'MEANT' to catch it, it cannot be advanced?? Thats one of the dumbest rules (btw ive never seen that happen) I've heard of. JOKE