PDA

View Full Version : Prove it time for Eagles' D Line



RoanokeFan
09-28-2012, 09:34 AM
http://espn.go.com/blog/nfceast/post/_/id/43707/prove-it-time-for-the-eagles-d-line

Excerpt: "The Philadelphia Eagles (http://espn.go.com/nfl/team/_/name/phi/philadelphia-eagles) believe the strength of their defense is their four-man defensive line and the pass rush it generates without help. They rotate eight or nine players to keep that line fresh and ferocious for 60 minutes. Starting ends Trent Cole (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/8560/trent-cole) and Jason Babin (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/5552/jason-babin) are the headliners who helped the Eagles post a league-leading 50 sacks last year, but they can get pressure from their defensive tackles, too, and having talented ends like Brandon Graham (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/13239/brandon-graham) and Darryl Tapp (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/9649/darryl-tapp) as part of the rotation is a key to what they do. So far this year, Pro Football Focus rates the Eagles' pass rush the second-best in the league behind only that of the Seattle Seahawks (http://espn.go.com/nfl/team/_/name/sea/seattle-seahawks). The Eagles' defensive line is legitimately one of the best in the NFL.

On the other side of the field Sunday night, however, will be the team that has perfected this method -- and won two Super Bowls with it -- over the past decade. The New York Giants (http://espn.go.com/nfl/team/_/name/nyg/new-york-giants), who visit Philadelphia for a huge division game this weekend, also live by the philosophy that the best way to play defense is to pressure the quarterback with the front four and drop seven into coverage. You wouldn't get anyone in Philadelphia to admit this, but the Eagles appear in some ways to be trying to copy the formula with which their division rivals have had such success. There are differences, especially in the way the Philadelphia defensive ends line up in Jim Washburn's "Wide 9" alignment. But the Eagles look at Justin Tuck (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/8488/justin-tuck) and Osi Umenyiora (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/4514/osi-umenyiora) and Jason Pierre-Paul (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/13256/jason-pierre-paul) with the belief that their guys are just as good." Read more...

Buddy333
09-28-2012, 09:36 AM
Well aren't they already proving it by being ranked so high?

TheEnigma
09-28-2012, 09:44 AM
Bad article. The Eagles Dline doesn't have to prove anything. I'd say there's more pressure on their new linebackers and secondary.