PDA

View Full Version : Where are the 2 - 2 teams headed?



RoanokeFan
10-02-2012, 02:21 PM
http://www.nfl.com/news/story/0ap1000000068614/article/at-22-packers-pats-headed-for-playoffs-cowboys-bills-are-not

Excerpt: "3. New York Giants

The Giants (http://www.nfl.com/teams/newyorkgiants/profile?team=NYG)' approach and play selection at the end of the game against Philly (http://www.nfl.com/gamecenter/2012093012/2012/REG4/giants@eagles#tab=recap&menu=highlights) was curious. They needed a field goal. The chuck-and-duck approach sans Hakeem Nicks (http://www.nfl.com/player/hakeemnicks/80672/profile) was baffling. Run the ball and put Lawrence Tynes (http://www.nfl.com/player/lawrencetynes/2504346/profile) in position to succeed. But as I penned in this space (http://www.nfl.com/news/story/0ap1000000066161/article/eli-manning-new-york-giants-clearly-cream-of-nfc-east-crop) last Tuesday, the Giants (http://www.nfl.com/teams/newyorkgiants/profile?team=NYG) still are the cream of the NFC East crop.
Bottom line: With Eli Manning (http://www.nfl.com/player/elimanning/2505996/profile), Tom Coughlin (http://www.nfl.com/player/tomcoughlin/2512064/profile) and a championship fiber, they will go 10-6 and win the division.

8. Washington Redskins
I love Robert Griffin III (http://www.nfl.com/player/robertgriffiniii/2533033/profile). Running backAlfred Morris (http://www.nfl.com/player/alfredmorris/2533457/profile) told us on Monday's SiriusXM show that he views himself as the ideal fit for Mike Shanahan (http://www.nfl.com/player/mikeshanahan/2525374/profile)'s one-cut-and-go system. He's right. But did you see Washington nearly blow that game (http://www.nfl.com/gamecenter/2012093011/2012/REG4/redskins@buccaneers#tab=recap&menu=highlights) to Tampa Bay before Billy Cundiff (http://www.nfl.com/player/billycundiff/2504941/profile)'s kick? You can't trust the defense or Cundiff for that matter. I thinkRG3 (http://www.nfl.com/player/robertgriffiniii/2533033/profile) will keep the 'Skins in a lot of games and Washington will win some you don't expect. But the defense keeps them from getting to .500.
Bottom line: I picked Washington to finish 7-9 (http://www.nfl.com/news/story/0ap1000000054830/article/how-far-can-rg3-carry-redskins) and I'm staying with that.

Here's a nugget that will smack you right between the eyes.
Since 1990, 201 teams have started the season with a 2-2 record. Of these 201 squads, 71 have made the playoffs (about 35 percent).

There are currently 10 teams in the NFL marching to the mediocre drum. One of those teams is the Dallas Cowboys (http://www.nfl.com/teams/dallascowboys/profile?team=DAL), coming off Monday night's embarrassment (http://www.nfl.com/gamecenter/2012100100/2012/REG4/bears@cowboys#tab=recap&menu=highlights) against theChicago Bears (http://www.nfl.com/teams/chicagobears/profile?team=CHI). Tony Romo (http://www.nfl.com/player/tonyromo/2505354/profile) was bad. Dez Bryant (http://www.nfl.com/player/dezbryant/497278/profile) and the rest of the team were worse. I'm pretty sure a Rob Ryan-coached defense has never actually done anything. I picked them at 7-9 (http://www.nfl.com/news/story/0ap1000000054802/article/is-this-the-cowboys-year) and still feel the same.
So the Cowboys (http://www.nfl.com/teams/dallascowboys/profile?team=DAL) won't be making the playoffs. Of the other nine 2-2 teams, who will? Let's take stock and predict their fate for the remainder of the season in our latest Schein Nine. I ranked them in order of confidence." Read more...