PDA

View Full Version : Kevin Gilbride discusses Hakeem Nicks, running backs, more



RoanokeFan
10-06-2012, 02:34 PM
http://www.bigblueview.com/giants-vs-browns-nfl-week-5/2012/10/6/3459344/kevin-gilbride-new-york-giants-hakeem-nicks-david-wilson-rueben-randle

Excerpt: "With a game against the Cleveland Browns (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/teams/cleveland-browns) coming up on Sunday, the New York Giants (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/teams/new-york-giants) are without their star wide receiver Hakeem Nicks (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/71294/hakeem-nicks) for the third week in a row. Offensive coordinator Kevin Gilbride has guys like Victor Cruz (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/109584/victor-cruz) and Domenik Hixon (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/2934/domenik-hixon) to pick up the pieces, but there are other aspects Nicks brings besides his play on the field.

"You're losing a football player who's not only extremely important to what you do, he's invaluable just in terms of his leadership and his ability in the bigger moment to make the bigger play, so you lose that and you know that you're not going to make it up with one guy," said Gilbride. "What you hope is collectively the rest of everybody will contribute enough that you can make up for his absence to enough of a degree that you win the game. That's what you're looking for."Aside from Nicks' injury, Ramses Barden (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/71289/ramses-barden) suffered a concussion last week against the Philadelphia Eagles and will not play.

That leaves the Giants with the rookie Rueben Randle (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/154892/rueben-randle), whose work ethic was called into question by NBC broadcaster Cris Collinsworth earlier in the week. Gilbride reminds everyone that Randle is young and he's improving." Read more...

BigBlueAllDay
10-06-2012, 02:46 PM
Next Man Up! Rueben Randle

RoanokeFan
10-06-2012, 02:51 PM
Next Man Up! Rueben Randle

He will be on the big stage tomorrow

Buddy333
10-06-2012, 02:58 PM
I will admit I was not to happy to hear about the work ethic stuff, but I liked when he was picked and I hope he has a good game tomorrow.

RoanokeFan
10-06-2012, 03:23 PM
I will admit I was not to happy to hear about the work ethic stuff, but I liked when he was picked and I hope he has a good game tomorrow.

We all share that hope

jomo
10-06-2012, 04:32 PM
Next Man Up! Rueben RandleHe'll have his chance to shut everyone up tomorrow.

RoanokeFan
10-06-2012, 04:58 PM
He'll have his chance to shut everyone up tomorrow.

Here's hoping

JesseJames
10-06-2012, 06:14 PM
I wonder if Collinsworth realized when he said that about Randall how much media crap Randall have to put up with.

Captain Chaos
10-06-2012, 06:45 PM
I wonder if Collinsworth realized when he said that about Randall how much media crap Randall have to put up with.

If it's true, as much as he deserves....