PDA

View Full Version : W2W4: Giants vs Redskins



RoanokeFan
10-19-2012, 01:07 PM
http://espn.go.com/blog/new-york/giants/post/_/id/18520/w2wf-redskins-vs-giants

Excerpt: "It's time for the New York Giants (http://espn.go.com/nfl/team/_/name/nyg/new-york-giants) to finally meet Robert Griffin (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/14875/robert-griffin) III and see the hype in person.

More importantly, though, the Giants need to get on the board in the division standings. They are 0-2 in the NFC East and really need a division victory. Here's what to watch for on Sunday:

Stop the future: RG3 may very well be the future of football given his incredible speed and talent. But the Giants can’t let him be the present on Sunday and allow him to run all over them the way he did on Minnesota last Sunday.

Griffin had a 76-yard touchdown run that Osi Umenyiora (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/4514/osi-umenyiora) described as “ridiculous.” Of course, JPP did challenge RG3 (http://espn.go.com/new-york/nfl/story/_/id/8517080/jason-pierre-paul-new-york-giants-prepare-face-robert-griffin-iii-washington-redskins) to run to his side of the defense.

The Giants have faced mobile quarterbacks like Cam Newton (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/13994/cam-newton), Michael Vick (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/2549/michael-vick), Tony Romo (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/5209/tony-romo) and even Colin Kaepernick (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/14001/colin-kaepernick). But Perry Fewell and Tom Coughlin say Griffin is different. The Giants have to contain the edges better than they did against Philadelphia earlier this year.

The Giants, who also have to slow down running back Alfred Morris (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/15009/alfred-morris), may have several battles with Griffin for years to come but they need to give the rookie a rude welcome on Sunday in his first NFC East divisional game.

Salsa time: The Redskins' secondary has been torched several times this season. The Redskins have allowed eight wide receivers or tight ends to go for 100 yards or more receiving. Also, Danny Amendola (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/11674/danny-amendola), Tony Gonzalez (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/1231/tony-gonzalez), Julio Jones (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/13982/julio-jones) and Percy Harvin (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/12569/percy-harvin) have all had 10 or more catches in a game against Washington.

Eli Manning (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/5526/eli-manning) should be able to go to work in this game and find Victor Cruz (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/13553/victor-cruz), Hakeem Nicks (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/12586/hakeem-nicks)and Domenik Hixon (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/9716/domenik-hixon) open against Washington’s defense. " Read more...