PDA

View Full Version : RGIII fumble



giantcarll
10-22-2012, 04:52 PM
Dont know if this was mentioned but on the play that RGIII fumbled ,it was ruled a fumble on the field yet did they or not review that play to see if his knee was down before he fumbled?They had 1 time out left and I thought if it was ruled a fumble they are not supposed to review unless Shanahan threw the challenge flag which I didnt see.Did I miss something.

slipknottin
10-22-2012, 04:53 PM
They review all turnovers now automatically.

Toadofsteel
10-22-2012, 04:54 PM
This. There was a review as to whether his knee was down by contact, but the ruling on the field was confirmed.

giantcarll
10-22-2012, 04:58 PM
Ok thanks for that info.I wasnt aware of that rule.That is new this year?

slipknottin
10-22-2012, 04:58 PM
Ok thanks for that info.I wasnt aware of that rule.That is new this year?

yes, along with automatic review of all scoring plays.

Toadofsteel
10-22-2012, 05:02 PM
yes, along with automatic review of all scoring plays.

The trick, however, is that the call on the field has to include a score or fumble for it to be automatic. If a guy is ruled down by contact or down short of the goal line, a challenge has to be used.