PDA

View Full Version : Three-Safety Package Making A Return To Giants' Defensive Arsenal



RoanokeFan
11-01-2012, 08:25 PM
http://www.bigblueview.com/2012/11/1/3587790/three-safety-package-perry-fewell-kenny-phillips-antrel-rolle-stevie-brown

Excerpt: "The three-safety package the New York Giants (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/teams/new-york-giants) employed so often in 2010 and 2011 with Antrel Rolle (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/1769/antrel-rolle), Kenny Phillips (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/34496/kenny-phillips) and Deon Grant (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/2433/deon-grant) is about to be re-introduced to the team's defensive playbook.

With Kenny Phillips declaring that he is ready to return to the lineup (http://www.bigblueview.com/2012/11/1/3586828/giants-injury-report-kenny-phillips-plstevie-brown-antrel-rolle-chase-blackburn) for the first time since injuring his knee in Week 4, and super-sub Stevie Brown (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/109254/stevie-brown)leading the NFL in takeaways with seven, defensive coordinator Perry Fewell admitted Thursday he will be dusting off the three-safety look to get them all on the field.

Fewell said that he will "go full-bore" with the three-safety look.

"All of them are good players. That's a good problem to have that Kenny (Phillips) is back," Fewell said. "Initially, we were using Jacquian Williams (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/131487/jacquian-williams), as a linebacker, to alternate as a big safety. Since he went down, and Stevie's emerged, we get Kenny back, our plans can totally focus on a three-safety package with three good players in there." Read more...

Moke
11-01-2012, 08:28 PM
Good to have them back and good for Stevie Brown, will Hill to get playing time and see the field to give the older guy's a little bit of rest.

RoanokeFan
11-01-2012, 08:31 PM
Good to have them back and good for Stevie Brown, will Hill to get playing time and see the field to give the older guy's a little bit of rest.

Does Hill come back next week?

Moke
11-01-2012, 08:33 PM
Does Hill come back next week?

I have no idea actually. You're the awesome news guy! You tell me. Still, if he does come back, that would be amazing. Time to hit hard on the long stretch.

Buddy333
11-01-2012, 08:41 PM
The last game Hill played was the Browns game. I think this week is his last week off.

RoanokeFan
11-01-2012, 08:42 PM
I have no idea actually. You're the awesome news guy! You tell me. Still, if he does come back, that would be amazing. Time to hit hard on the long stretch.

Man, the pressure is SO intense. Yes, his last game under suspension is the Steelers

TheEnigma
11-01-2012, 08:43 PM
Will Hill returns AFTER the Steelers game and can report to practice the very next day.

Cool Papa B.
11-01-2012, 08:45 PM
Will Hill returns AFTER the Steelers game and can report to practice the very next day.

I wonder Who they cut or move to the practice squad to make room for Hill? Sash?

RoanokeFan
11-01-2012, 08:54 PM
I wonder Who they cut or move to the practice squad to make room for Hill? Sash?

Maybe Petrus with Canty back

blueNorange
11-02-2012, 03:32 AM
brown is a ballhawk, what a pickup

stormblue
11-02-2012, 03:52 AM
good , that fiasco we call a back 7 needs something to shake it up.
Romo threw for 437 yards.....that's Oregon Duck numbers.

let's hope this helps.

Captain Chaos
11-02-2012, 08:00 AM
I think when the bring Hill back he will go back to playing the nickle, Tryon maybe the casualty. Sash did a nice job last week...