PDA

View Full Version : Spotlight On...David Wilson, Rueben Randle: Time To Contribute Rookies



RoanokeFan
12-01-2012, 07:59 AM
http://www.bigblueview.com/2012/11/3...new-you-giants (http://www.bigblueview.com/2012/11/30/3709746/spotlight-on-david-wilson-and-rueben-randle-time-to-contribute-new-you-giants)

Excerpt: "Before the bye week New York Giants (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/teams/new-york-giants)' wide receiver Hakeem Nicks (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/71294/hakeem-nicks) talked to rookie receiver Rueben Randle (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/154892/rueben-randle) and offered a word of advice. Nicks told Randle the season was coming to crunch time, and it's time for the rookies to really start picking up their game.

"[Nicks] said these next couple of weeks, we're going to need all you young guys to step up," said Randle. "The beginning of the season is over with, so it's about time we pick up our game and contribute."

Earlier in the year NBC broadcaster Cris Colinsworth suggested that the Giants were upset with Randle's work ethic in practice, which Randle didn't take too kindly. Randle has been working mostly as a punt returner this season getting few opportunities at wide receiver. He caught his first career NFL touchdown last week against the Green Bay Packers (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/teams/green-bay-packers). He was hoping it would of came sooner in the season rather than later, so he wasn't making a big to-do about it. "It's big, but I'm not going to make a big deal about it. Just got to keep pushing and keep working."

Among the other key rookies to contribute in this late part of the season is running back David Wilson (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/152687/david-wilson). Wilson's opportunities at running back were cut short all the way back to Week 1 when he fumbled on his first drive against theDallas Cowboys (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/teams/dallas-cowboys). He's worked mostly as a kickoff returner. He's had some success returning kickoffs, including a 66-yard return against the San Francsico 49ers (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/teams/san-francisco-49ers), and he scored his first career NFL touchdown against theCleveland Browns (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/teams/cleveland-browns) on a carry in the second half.

Last Sunday the Giants lost their second running back Andre Brown (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/71293/andre-brown) to a broken leg, so a path for Wilson to really step up has opened. Veteran back Ahmad Bradshaw (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/16768/ahmad-bradshaw) gave the rookie some advice, telling him about his rookie year when Derrick Ward (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/2265/derrick-ward) went down with an injury.

"Be prepared so when your chance comes, you'll be ready. That's what I've been doing," said Wilson. "Completing quizzes with Henry [Hynoski], going through practice, shadowing Andre and Ahmad at practice and making sure I'm watching them and paying attention when they're in the games and seeing how I would react in the situation they're in and all the things you can do to prepare and be ready so when it's your turn you can step up without missing a step." Read more...

BillTheGreek
12-01-2012, 09:40 AM
I always Liked Wilson, It's a shame he is going to get a RB start because of Brown's injury...well with that said, we need the whole team to give him a few Blocks and he will find his way to the End Zone !

As far as Randle.........he will be just fine ......just give him the ball !



Go Wilson !
It's your Time to Shine !

RoanokeFan
12-01-2012, 09:56 AM
I always Liked Wilson, It's a shame he is going to get RB start because of Brown's injury...well with that said, we need the whole team to give him a few Blocks and he will find his way to the End Zone ! As far as Randle.........he will be just fine ......just give him the ball ! Go Wilson ! It's your Time to Shine ! I don't think either of them will start. Bradshaw will start and with Hixon practicing Randle is likely to be the # 4. I am still a little concerned about Randle's 2 muffed punts last game.