PDA

View Full Version : Stock Watch: Three Safeties Up



RoanokeFan
12-03-2012, 03:12 PM
http://espn.go.com/blog/new-york/giants/post/_/id/20034/stock-watch-three-safeties-up

Excerpt: "Before we get to Redskins-Giants II, let’s take a look at who’s up and who’s down for the Giants with this week’s Stock Watch.

As we do every week, the streaking and slumping categories are named after songs. This week’s musical choice is Alicia Keys, who just released her new album.

“IF I AIN’T GOT YOU” (streaking)

Three safeties: With Kenny Phillips (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/11265/kenny-phillips) back on the field last Sunday night, Perry Fewell brought back the three-safety look and it looked good.

With Phillips and Brown mostly playing deep and Antrel Rolle (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/8423/antrel-rolle) moving up to play closer to the line of scrimmage and covering the slot, the Giants defense smothered Aaron Rodgers (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/8439/aaron-rodgers) and Green Bay.

The Giants hope Phillips will play against Washington on Monday night.

David Wilson (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/14887/david-wilson): It’s not the way he would have liked it to come but Wilson is expected to get his first major opportunity at playing time with Andre Brown’s injury.

The rookie says he is ready to show what he can do (http://espn.go.com/new-york/nfl/story/_/id/8682710/new-york-giants-david-wilson-gets-shot-monday-night-football) and that he can pass protect and pick up the blitz. We’ll see how the coaching staff uses him behind Ahmad Bradshaw (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/10693/ahmad-bradshaw) and if they will use Ryan Torain (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/11362/ryan-torain) or Kregg Lumpkin (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/11766/kregg-lumpkin).

Mathias Kiwanuka (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/9618/mathias-kiwanuka): With Fewell using him up on the defensive line, the hybrid linebacker/defensive end had his best game of the season with two sacks, six tackles and three quarterback hits against Green Bay.

When Jacquian Williams (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/14199/jacquian-williams) gets healthy, that could allow Fewell to use Kiwanuka up front even more. " Read more...