PDA

View Full Version : W2W4: Giants At Falcons



RoanokeFan
12-15-2012, 08:30 AM
http://espn.go.com/blog/new-york/giants/post/_/id/20625/w2w4-giants-at-falcons

Excerpt: "The last time they saw each other, the Giants crushed the Falcons in the playoffs last January to start their Super Bowl run.

Now the Falcons are looking for payback. Here are five things to watch for on Sunday:

Flip out:David Wilson (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/14887/david-wilson) gave us a glimpse of what he's capable of last week against the Saints.

With Ahmad Bradshaw (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/10693/ahmad-bradshaw) ruled out this week with a sprained knee, Wilson will start, and should be in line for even more touches. Until last week against Carolina, Atlanta had allowed at least one rushing touchdown in four straight games, and 100-yard rushers in three of those four games.

While offensive coordinator Kevin Gilbride said he liked what he saw from Wilson (http://espn.go.com/blog/new-york/giants/post/_/id/20612/gilbride-on-wilson-bradshaw-and-lumpkin), don’t be surprised to see Kregg Lumpkin (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/11766/kregg-lumpkin) get some snaps on third downs and passing situations, and perhaps Ryan Torain (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/11362/ryan-torain) as well.

But it will be exciting to see what Wilson does for an encore against the Falcons.

Dirty birds: The Giants' secondary will be put to the test by Matt Ryan (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/11237/matt-ryan), Julio Jones (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/13982/julio-jones), Roddy White (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/8442/roddy-white) and Tony Gonzalez (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/1231/tony-gonzalez).

With Prince Amukamara (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/13975/prince-amukamara) ruled out with a hamstring injury, defensive coordinator Perry Fewell said rookie cornerback Jayron Hosley (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/14983/jayron-hosley) is ready to step up (http://espn.go.com/blog/new-york/giants/post/_/id/20599/big-opportunity-for-jayron-hosley). Hosley has struggled at times in the nickel package, but Fewell said he has confidence Hosley will be fine on the outside and will start.

The Giants found ways to slow down the Packers' and Saints' aerial attacks in recent weeks, and they’ll have to do the same against the Falcons' talented wide receiver duo. And Jacquian Williams (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/14199/jacquian-williams) and perhaps Antrel Rolle (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/8423/antrel-rolle) will have to find a way to contain Gonzalez, especially in the red zone." Read more...

fourth&forever
12-15-2012, 08:44 AM
oops. The link goes to a short interesting espn video but doesn't finish the above article.

RoanokeFan
12-15-2012, 09:38 AM
oops. The link goes to a short interesting espn video but doesn't finish the above article.

Try now, hopefully it's fixed

fourth&forever
12-15-2012, 10:05 AM
Try now, hopefully it's fixed
fixed. Thanks Roanoke.

What a boost it is to have JWilliams back. He adds so much to our game.
Now play yourself into playoff shape Jacquian!

RoanokeFan
12-15-2012, 10:06 AM
fixed. Thanks Roanoke.

What a boost it is to have JWilliams back. He adds so much to our game.
Now play yourself into playoff shape Jacquian!

I think Williams is really an unsung hero and will prove his worth in the slot and against the run

fourth&forever
12-15-2012, 10:18 AM
I think Williams is really an unsung hero and will prove his worth in the slot and against the run
...and against Gonzo

RoanokeFan
12-15-2012, 10:20 AM
...and against Gonzo

We can only hope :)

Captain Chaos
12-15-2012, 11:17 AM
Hopefully we will be able to sustain some log drives and keep Atlanta's O off the field...