PDA

View Full Version : Giants vs. Ravens: What To Watch



RoanokeFan
12-22-2012, 10:15 AM
http://www.bigblueview.com/giants-vs-ravens-2012/2012/12/22/3793120/giants-vs-ravens-what-to-watch-eli-manning-ahmad-bradshaw-tom-coughlin-ray-lewis

Excerpt: "It is crunch time for the New York Giants (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/teams/new-york-giants). No more lapses can be tolerated. No more weeks of 'we'll turn it on later when we have to.' Now is the time when they have to. Can they? We find out on Sunday as the defending Super Bowl champs face the Baltimore Ravens (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/teams/baltimore-ravens) with their margin for error sliced to nothing. They have to win. Period.

Here is a look at some of the things to watch on Sunday.The Giants' Defensive Front SevenYes, that is a somewhat generic category but if you have paid attention this week it has many facets. The focus of talk about the defense has been on the pass rush, which has not produced like it did last season. Increasingly, though, the finger is being pointed at the run defense for not creating pass-rushing opportunities.

"This question has been asked 9,000 times and I’ve answered it 9,000 times and it will probably take an off season to maybe analyze it even further," head coach Tom Coughlin said. "I think the first thing you do on defense is stop the run. If you stop the run, I think you rush the passer pretty well.

"So, can the Giants hold Ravens' running back Ray Rice (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/34930/ray-rice) in check well enough to release what they hope will be a fearsome pass rush?

Who Will Play?

The Giants have 11 players on their injury report (http://www.bigblueview.com/giants-vs-ravens-2012/2012/12/21/3792960/giants-injury-report-ahmad-bradshaw-kenny-phillips-prince-amukamra-chris-snee-david-baas-justin-tuck), with seven questionable. That list includes starters Ahmad Bradshaw (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/16768/ahmad-bradshaw), Chris Snee (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/2256/chris-snee), David Baas (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/2069/david-baas), Justin Tuck (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/2260/justin-tuck) and Kenny Phillips (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/34496/kenny-phillips). The Ravens have a whopping 18 -- yes, 18 -- players on their injury report. That does not include middle linebacker Ray Lewis (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/1406/ray-lewis) -- who could be activated from short-term IR for Sunday's game.

Special Teams

Mostly thanks to Jacoby Jones (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/19039/jacoby-jones) (32.5 yards per return) the Ravens are second in the league in kickoff returns with an overall average of 28.2 yards per return. Giants' placekicker Lawrence Tynes (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/2407/lawrence-tynes) has missed kicks in three straight games. So, the Giants will have to step up on special teams Sunday." Read more...