PDA

View Full Version : Reasons To Celebrate: Giants' Emerging Rookie Class



RoanokeFan
01-02-2013, 09:58 AM
http://www.bigblueview.com/2013/1/1/...kuhn-will-hill (http://www.bigblueview.com/2013/1/1/3823026/new-york-giants-david-wilson-reuben-randle-jayron-hosley-markus-kuhn-will-hill)

Excferpt: "The 2012 season has come and gone. Back in April, the New York Giants (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/teams/new-york-giants) selected a draft class to help fill the gaps in the roster after losing some significant players like Brandon Jacobs (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/2224/brandon-jacobs), Mario Manningham (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/34493/mario-manningham), and Jake Ballard. Some of the rookies have shown brilliance, while others have struggled. Overall though, every single one of these players has the ability to be on the roster and prove their worth.

It took a while for first-round pick David Wilson (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/152687/david-wilson), the running back from Virginia Tech, to really find his place in the Giants offense. An opening night fumble against the Dallas Cowboys (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/teams/dallas-cowboys) was no help and it landed Wilson to work strictly on kickoff returns with very few chances for snaps and carries. The Week 14 game against the New Orleans Saints (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/teams/new-orleans-saints) changed that dramatically. Wilson ended the season with 358 yards on 71 carries and had no fumbles since that Week 1 incident. The future is very promising for this young man and the Giants' run game.

"Coaches get a little bit nervous when young players ... you put them in and they turn the ball over early in the game. He proved himself and got back in there and we think he's going to be a terrific player for us," said Giants' General Manager Jerry Reese. "He's a dynamic, really kind of world class athlete. We think he has a bright future for us."

Second-round pick Rueben Randle (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/154892/rueben-randle), the wide receiver from LSU also went through some questions this season, but it was mostly brought upon everyone by Cris Collinsworth who questioned Randle's work ethic. He and Wilson have shown in the last few weeks that the future is bright for the two young men. On Sunday against the Eagles (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/teams/philadelphia-eagles), Randle ended his season with two touchdown catches on the day. Randle ended his season with 19 catches for 298 yards and three touchdowns.

Jayron Hosley (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/154922/jayron-hosley) flashed the ability in the preseason to possibly help the Giants' cornerbacks, but he's dealt with a lot of injuries. The third-round pick out of Virginia Tech had an up and down season. had flashed some moments of brilliance, but also had moments he wants to forget. Hosley's future with the Giants, though, does look good.

"You saw him return some punts in the preseason, but after he hurt his foot and had some injuries there, we took him off the punt return duties, but we think he's going to be a really good player for us," said Reese. "He has that 'moxy' about him that you like. He had some growing pains like all rookies do, but he flashed some things that we like from him as a third-round pick."

The Giants used their fourth pick on Adrien Robinson (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/155060/adrien-robinson), a tight end out of Cincinnati. After losing Jake Ballard (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/108531/jake-ballard) to the New England Patriots (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/teams/new-england-patriots) andTravis Beckum (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/71291/travis-beckum) to another injury, the Giants were at the time seriously limited at tight end. However, they brought Martellus Bennett (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/34521/martellus-bennett) over from Dallas, who had a career year with the Giants. Robinson just never had the opportunity to suit up for games.

"We still have very high hopes for him," said Reese. "He's a big, talented guy that's fast and can run and can do all the things. It's unfortunate that we weren't able to get him the suit on Sundays and get him some experience playing in the National Football League. We hope he'll continue to develop ... have an off-season under his belt to go through. Hopefully he'll be able to help us moving forward as a tight end in our tight end stable." Read more...