PDA

View Full Version : Five Giants' Issues: Missing Intangibles



RoanokeFan
01-09-2013, 02:50 PM
http://espn.go.com/blog/new-york/giants/post/_/id/21687/five-giants-reasons-missing-intangibles

Excerpt: "This week we are taking a look at five reasons why the New York Giants weren't able to make it back to the playoffs one season after winning the Super Bowl.

So far we have looked at the pass rush (http://espn.go.com/blog/new-york/giants/post/_/id/21648/five-giant-issues-the-pass-rush) and what happened to Corey Webster (http://espn.go.com/blog/new-york/giants/post/_/id/21669/five-giant-issues-corey-webster). Today we explore how this Giants team was missing intangibles that the 2011 team had.

In 2011, the Giants won three of their last four to get into the playoffs and they never lost again. But the chemistry, clutch play and motivation the Giants had during their Super Bowl run disappeared in 2012, when they were routed in two of their last three games to miss the playoffs.

"Once the inconsistency started to happen, you could kind of see something was missing," wide receiver Victor Cruz (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/13553/victor-cruz) said on ESPN Radio on Tuesday. "Whether it be injury, whether it be something vocal, whether it be leadership, I don't know what it was, but you just could feel something was missing throughout the season."

Let's take a look at some missing intangibles:

Chemistry: When the going got tough in 2011 and the Giants were on the brink, the players united into an unstoppable force that won six straight do-or-die games.

When the Giants needed to win at least one road game either at Atlanta or Baltimore this season to make the playoffs, they barely showed up.

Was it possible the Giants missed some key personalities in the locker room that made the chemistry so solid in 2011? The Giants didn't bring back vocal veterans Brandon Jacobs (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/8524/brandon-jacobs),Deon Grant (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/2188/deon-grant) and Dave Tollefson (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/9839/dave-tollefson), who were loved by teammates.

Jacobs and Grant, in particular, were a big part of the leadership circle during the Super Bowl run. The Giants knew this, but they moved on and, understandably wanting to give younger players an opportunity while also getting more athletic. But by replacing Jacobs, Grant, Tollefson, Aaron Ross (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/10464/aaron-ross) and Mario Manningham (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/11329/mario-manningham) with younger players, the Giants lost valuable experience. " Read more...

Kruunch
01-09-2013, 02:52 PM
Are big boy pants an intangible?

RoanokeFan
01-09-2013, 02:57 PM
Are big boy pants an intangible?

That "DEPENDS"

ELI_HOF_NYG
01-09-2013, 03:00 PM
That "DEPENDS"

some of them need "depends" based on the steaming pile they provided at the mid season point on.

Kruunch
01-09-2013, 03:14 PM
That "DEPENDS"

I so hate you right now.

shane4177
01-09-2013, 04:28 PM
"But by replacing Jacobs, Grant, Tollefson, Aaron Ross and Mario Manningham with younger players, the Giants lost valuable experience."

This right here. We should have re-signed Ross, and let T2 go to the wayside.....I would rather have had a healthy, experienced Ross, than an IR'd T2. When Webster started to suck wind, we could have subed in Ross. Also we probably could have re-signed MM, I would rather had him than Barden and JJ, and he was our true deep threat over the top. Jacobs would have been nice too, but only if he could keep the "colorful" comments to himself.