PDA

View Full Version : Giants' Positional Review: Running Back



RoanokeFan
01-14-2013, 08:59 AM
http://www.bigblueview.com/2013/1/14/3866676/new-york-giants-positional-reviews-running-back-ahmad-bradshaw-david-wilson-andre-brown

Excerpt: "The New York Giants (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/teams/new-york-giants) had a 1,000-yard rusher in 2012 and were the only team in the NFL to have three running backs gain 100 or more yards in a game. Despite all of that success, there are questions about the running back position for the Giants going forward.

Let's take a closer look at running back as we continue our positional reviews, assessing the 2012 season and turning an eye toward what could happen in 2013.

Ahmad Bradshaw -- The only thing to complain about with Bradshaw is that the guy just can't stay healthy. His feet are a seemingly chronic issue, and they impact his availability every season. The second 1,000-yard season of his career and the 4.6 yards per carry average is certainly evidence of that.






2012 - Ahmad Bradshaw (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/16768/ahmad-bradshaw)
14
221
1015
72.5
4.6
37
6
23
245
17.5
10.7
59
0




David Wilson -- Did most of his damage as a kickoff returner, making second-team All-Pro (http://www.bigblueview.com/2013/1/12/3868988/ap-all-pro-team-david-wilson-new-yrok-giants) for his work there. In his limited running opportunities we saw the speed and big-play potential. If he stays healthy he could be making big plays for the Giants for years to come.






2012 - David Wilson (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/152687/david-wilson)
16
71
358
22.4
5
52
4
4
34
2.1
8.5
15
1




Andre Brown -- When the Giants kept Brown and released veteran D.J. Ware (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/1283/d-j-ware) you wondered what they were thinking. Well, Brown showed you the Giants knew what they were doing. It was truly unfortunate that he missed the last few games of the season with a broken leg. No matter what other decisions the Giants make about the running game going forward, Brown has earned a role.






2012 - Andre Brown (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/71293/andre-brown)
10
73
385
38.5
5.3
31
8
12
86
8.6
7.2
17
0



Henry Hynoski (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/130890/henry-hynoski) -- One of the best fullbacks in the league. Hynoski had a +8.0 grade from Pro Football Focus, and got the first five carries of his NFL career. He also got his first touchdown
Hynoski 2012 stats:
Rushing: 5 carries, 20 yards (4.0 yards per carry)
Receiving: 11 receptions, 50 yards, 1 touchdown

Da'Rel Scott (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/131043/da-rel-scott) -- After two seasons all we really know about the 2011 seventh-round draft pick is that he's fast. He played in only four games in 2012 and had 6 carries for 9 yards.

Kregg Lumpkin (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/34567/kregg-lumpkin) -- Signed mid-season as a third-down back, but never caught a pass. He carried 9 times for 42 yards (4.7 yards per carry).

Ryan Torain -- Signed at the same time Lumpkin was, but never touched the ball." Read more...