PDA

View Full Version : NY Giants' Positional Review: Offensive Line



RoanokeFan
01-17-2013, 12:40 PM
http://www.bigblueview.com/2013/1/17/3866694/new-york-giants-positional-reviews-2012-offensive-line-david-diehl-will-beatty-chris-snee

Excerpt: "Let's continue our series of positional reviews for the New York Giants (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/teams/new-york-giants) by focusing today on the offensive line. There are really two ways of looking at this group, and which side you fall on really depends on whether you are a glass half-empty or glass half-full type of person.

Look at this group and there are a number of positive things to focus on. There are also, however, things to be concerned about.

The Good

-- The Giants allowed only 20 quarterback sacks in 2012, best in the league; they averaged 4.6 yards per rushing attempt, 7th in the league; Will Beatty (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/71290/will-beatty) emerged as a stud left tackle who should be a long-term fixture; Chris Snee (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/2256/chris-snee) had a bounce-back season.

The Bad

-- The play of right tackle David Diehl (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/2214/david-diehl) left a lot to be desired, and there is no obvious long-term answer at that position. Sean Locklear (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/2318/sean-locklear) is a capable journeyman, and might be a better player than Diehl. James Brewer (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/130992/james-brewer)is a young player who either hasn't had, or hasn't earned, an opportunity in two seasons. There really is little depth. Brandon Mosley (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/155065/brandon-mosley) and Matt McCants (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/155130/matt-mccants), drafted in 2012, are still unknown and unproven.

The Individuals

Will Beatty -- After missing most of the pre-season with a back injury, Beatty had a breakout 2012 season. He became a premier left tackle, allowing only three sacks, no quarterback hits and only 22 pressures in 569 pass-blocking snaps. His +22.4 placed him 11th among NFL tackles in 2012, and only a relatively high number of penalties (11) hurt his overall score.

Kevin Boothe (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/3290/kevin-boothe) -- Until this year he was really considered a journeyman better suited to be a backup guard and center, and maybe an emergency tackle. Had a solid season while starting full-time for the first time since he was a rookie with the Oakland Raiders (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/teams/oakland-raiders) in 2006. Ended the season with a +8.2 PFF grade." Read more...

NYGisBallin
01-17-2013, 12:55 PM
Beatty Boothe ? Snee ?

Center and RG...

You cant kill Baas, He's been decent. Did a good job throughout the playoff run last year... Could upgrade IMO

Antwuan
01-17-2013, 12:57 PM
Beatty & Boothe played well this past season.