PDA

View Full Version : Draft: Giants' Puzzle More Complete



RoanokeFan
04-28-2013, 08:25 AM
http://espn.go.com/new-york/nfl/story/_/id/9219831/nfl-draft-2013-new-york-giants-super-bowl-puzzle-more-complete-draft

Excerpt: "The New York Giants (http://espn.go.com/nfl/team/_/name/nyg/new-york-giants) got bigger and younger in the draft.

They added muscle and size to the trenches with their first three picks. They stunned many by not only trading up but doing so to grab Syracuse quarterback Ryan Nassib (http://insider.espn.go.com/nfl/draft/player/_/id/29300/ryan-nassib). And they added more depth."We went in with some pretty set ideas about what we wanted to accomplish going forward," coach Tom Coughlin said. "We did go ahead and address our offensive and defensive lines with some competitiveness achieved with regard to that."

Co-owner John Mara wanted to see his team improve in the trenches. So general manager Jerry Reese drafted Syracuse's versatile offensive lineman Justin Pugh (http://insider.espn.go.com/nfl/draft/player/_/id/30348/justin-pugh) in the first round and followed that up by taking Ohio State's humongous defensive tackle Johnathan Hankins (http://insider.espn.go.com/nfl/draft/player/_/id/29244/johnathan-hankins) and Texas A&M defensive end Damontre Moore (http://insider.espn.go.com/nfl/draft/player/_/id/30227/damontre-moore).The Giants believe their first three picks will create competition and perhaps push some veterans ahead of them. But what the Giants hoped to accomplish out of this draft was to get bigger, stronger, and younger. They wanted to find some potential contributors this season and groom potential starters to fill areas that could be pressing needs in 2014.

Their skill players are already in place, with the likes of Hakeem Nicks (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/12586/hakeem-nicks), Victor Cruz (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/13553/victor-cruz), and David Wilson (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/14887/david-wilson) surrounding Eli Manning (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/5526/eli-manning). This draft was about adding reinforcements on the front lines and potential replacements for the future, with two dozen starters/contributors that might not be under contract after 2013." Read more...