PDA

View Full Version : Giants' Way Too Early Projected 53 Man Roster



RoanokeFan
05-06-2013, 11:59 AM
http://www.bigblueview.com/2013/5/6/4303830/new-york-giants-projected-53-man-roster-david-carr-mathias-kiwanuka-cooper-taylor

Excerpt: "The 2013 NFL Draft is over and while the New York Giants (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/teams/new-york-giants) roster is nowhere being set, there is enough in place for me to take an educated guess at what the roster might look like on opening day. I know at times head coach Tom Coughlin and company catch flak for "playing favorites", but the Giants are a team that really tries to put the best 53 men on the roster. Plenty of unexpected players have made the roster -- like Duke Calhoun (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/109581/duke-calhoun) a couple of seasons ago -- so you never know what will happen.

Quarterback (3)

Eli Manning (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/2235/eli-manning), David Carr (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/2711/david-carr), Ryan Nassib (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/193609/ryan-nassib)Analysis: The only question here is whether or not Carr remains on the roster. The Giants believe they are a Super Bowl contending team and I think they will feel that Carr will give them a better opportunity to win a game this year if Manning is hurt.

Running Back (4)

David Wilson (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/152687/david-wilson), Andre Brown (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/71293/andre-brown), Michael Cox, Henry Hynoski (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/130890/henry-hynoski)

Analysis: The Giants don't go deep here with running backs this year, relying on David Wilson and Andre Brown. I picked Cox over Da'rel Scott or Ryan Torain because based on what the Giants have said about him he offers a nice complement to the two primary backs. However, the fact that Scott could be a return man and already knows the system could win him the job -- also at this point it'd be hard to speculate that a team would claim Cox off waivers if he was waived. I think this is a position where the Giants add another player if they feel that Nassib could produce this year.

Wide Receiver (6)

Hakeem Nicks (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/71294/hakeem-nicks), Victor Cruz (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/109584/victor-cruz), Rueben Randle (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/154892/rueben-randle), Louis Murphy (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/71520/louis-murphy), Jerrel Jernigan (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/131123/jerrel-jernigan), Marcus Davis

Analysis: Pretty straightforward here. The Giants top four options are a lock, I believe. I think Jernigan would have to have a terrible camp or injury to get cut. The Marcus Davis pick is the one I'm nervous about. The Giants did throw him a lot of money as an undrafted free agent and he has a lot of upside, but I'm not sure he'll produce enough in any special team role to make the team." Read more...