PDA

View Full Version : Justin Pugh The Right Reach For Giants?



RoanokeFan
05-17-2013, 12:48 PM
http://www.bigblueview.com/2013/5/17/4338730/justin-pugh-new-york-giants-2013-nfl-draft

Excerpt: "Much was made about how the New York Giants (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/teams/new-york-giants) "reached" for Justin Pugh (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/193313/justin-pugh) over other players in the 2013 NFL Draft (a claim that was also made here by me), but something I wanted to explore is the success rate of offensive linemen drafted early in the NFL draft. I classify early as first or second round -- those are the rounds you expect to get starters from. The rest of the rounds you hope you do.

Top 32 offensive tackles rated by Pro Football Focus:


Player
Round Drafted


Joe Staley (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/19082/joe-staley)
1st


Duane Brown (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/34806/duane-brown)
1st


Michael Roos (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/2879/michael-roos)
2nd


Ryan Clady (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/4107/ryan-clady)
1st


Andre Smith
1st


Joe Thomas
1st


D'Brickshaw Ferguson
1st


Gosder Cherilus (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/34413/gosder-cherilus)
1st


Andrew Whitworth (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/2621/andrew-whitworth)
2nd


Anthony Davis
1st


Will Beatty (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/71290/will-beatty)
2nd


Jared Veldheer (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/108574/jared-veldheer)
3rd


Sebastian Vollmer (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/71181/sebastian-vollmer)
2nd


Tyson Clabo (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/1121/tyson-clabo)
UDFA


Eugene Monroe (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/71381/eugene-monroe)
1st


Russel Okung
1st


Nate Solder (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/131011/nate-solder)
1st


Orlando Franklin (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/130996/orlando-franklin)
2nd


Trent Williams (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/108579/trent-williams)
1st


Jordan Gross (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/2156/jordan-gross)
1st


Mitchell Schwartz (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/154867/mitchell-schwartz)
2nd


Phil Loadholt (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/71507/phil-loadholt)
2nd


Matt Kalil (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/152652/matt-kalil)
1st


Donald Penn (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/1829/donald-penn)
UDFA


Branden Albert (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/34459/branden-albert)
1st


Eric Winston (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/2769/eric-winston)
3rd


Sam Baker (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/34721/sam-baker)
1st


David Stewart (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/2888/david-stewart)
4th


Todd Herremans (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/1326/todd-herremans)
4th


Roger Saffold
2nd


Anthony Castonzo (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/130994/anthony-castonzo)
1st



Of the 32 highest ranked offensive tackles in the league-26 of them were drafted in the first two rounds.

17 of the 26 that were drafted in the first two rounds were drafted in the first rounds." Read more...

Carter.525
05-17-2013, 12:50 PM
possible reach.. Let's hoped JR reached for the right guy.. Reach for the stars Justin

RoanokeFan
05-17-2013, 12:57 PM
possible reach.. Let's hoped JR reached for the right guy.. Reach for the stars Justin

It's good motivation to have something to prove

slipknottin
05-17-2013, 01:00 PM
Now remove all the ones who are LTs...

ryan12
05-17-2013, 01:16 PM
i thought this was going to be about his arms im glad it wasnt

RoanokeFan
05-17-2013, 01:19 PM
i thought this was going to be about his arms im glad it wasnt

You do realize that every time his man gets pressure or a sack, his arms are going to be mentioned? :rolleyes:

ryan12
05-17-2013, 01:22 PM
You do realize that every time his man gets pressure or a sack, his arms are going to be mentioned? :rolleyes:

yes i do realize it.. thats if he gives up a sack

RoanokeFan
05-17-2013, 01:24 PM
yes i do realize it.. thats if he gives up a sack

That's the spirit

Carter.525
05-17-2013, 01:25 PM
That's the spirit

didn't give up any last year at Syracuse..

RoanokeFan
05-17-2013, 01:28 PM
didn't give up any last year at Syracuse..

I think 1 but no pressures

EnragedYouth85
05-17-2013, 01:30 PM
I'm confident in him, he will do well for us! I can deal with less than 5 sacks all year for a rookie..

RoanokeFan
05-17-2013, 01:32 PM
I'm confident in him, he will do well for us! I can deal with less than 5 sacks all year for a rookie..

I actually worry more about the pressures. With 1 or 2 additional seconds, Eli could be deadly

EnragedYouth85
05-17-2013, 01:33 PM
I actually worry more about the pressures. With 1 or 2 additional seconds, Eli could be deadly

Thats true, Eli sometimes forces things when under pressure. Hopefully he buffs up some for these pass rushers!

BigBlue1971
05-17-2013, 01:55 PM
I think this was a great pick by the G-Men!

I think with Pugh already drafted the Giants had another reason not to pass on Nassib! college teammates at two of the most critical positions on a team.

that could turn out to be very important in Giants history!

ryan12
05-17-2013, 02:01 PM
I actually worry more about the pressures. With 1 or 2 additional seconds, Eli could be deadly

outstanding point

ImElectric2
05-17-2013, 09:36 PM
Headline after Giants win on 3 one-yard, offtackle right TD runs: "Giants win Pughly"

giantsfan420
05-17-2013, 10:11 PM
is this still even a debatable topic??

do the ppl against the Pugh pick (based on the player, not the whole positional value aspect) realize there were teams that actually had Pugh ranked as their 3 best OT ahead of L.Johnson??
this guy let up like 1/2 a pressure for an entire year or some crazy stat, like 1 sack over 4 yrs or some crazy stat.

He moves as well as any OL in the draft, gets to the 2nd level as good as any OL in the draft (thats not me being a homer, that was the actual scouting report by many credible sources). The one knock wasn't even arm length, as teams would have removed him from their board based solely on that, it was a strength issue. And, I guess the FO, who are dedicated in researching the prospects, believe that wont be an issue with an NFL work out regiment. The guy is competitive as they come which is huge, he's as physical (he seeks contact) as they come which is huge.

the arm length, eh, not worried. His footwork will put him in positions to where it wont even matter. The strength issue, well he handled NFL 1rst rd picks who went onto success rookie years, so I honestly dont think it'll even matter.

My money is he's day 1 starter at RT and we never look back.

tcseacliff
05-17-2013, 11:55 PM
Syracuse ain't the NFL EAST! but, wanting it bad enough should be a useful tool for him to do a good job! (see,did not have to mention, overcoming his arms!).

tcseacliff
05-17-2013, 11:58 PM
Thats true, Eli sometimes forces things when under pressure. Hopefully he buffs up some for these pass rushers!

BUFF UP? he looks great!

https://fbcdn-sphotos-d-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/547089_640909932589748_232401081_n.png

demoskratos
05-18-2013, 08:03 AM
I don't understand how people continue to call this pick a reach when it has been said the next team would have picked him too.

Captain Chaos
05-18-2013, 08:45 AM
I think he is very polished coming out; however, I fear that at 6' 4" and 301 he may be a little light right now to be effective at the pro level. Not saying he won't get there just expectation this first year.

FBomb
05-18-2013, 10:11 AM
BUFF UP? he looks great!

https://fbcdn-sphotos-d-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/547089_640909932589748_232401081_n.png


This just proves that I have the body of a 2 time SB MVP!!!!

TCHOF
05-18-2013, 10:43 AM
I don't understand how people continue to call this pick a reach when it has been said the next team would have picked him too.

He would not have made it out of the first round. I agree with you.

TCHOF
05-18-2013, 10:44 AM
is this still even a debatable topic??

do the ppl against the Pugh pick (based on the player, not the whole positional value aspect) realize there were teams that actually had Pugh ranked as their 3 best OT ahead of L.Johnson??
this guy let up like 1/2 a pressure for an entire year or some crazy stat, like 1 sack over 4 yrs or some crazy stat.

He moves as well as any OL in the draft, gets to the 2nd level as good as any OL in the draft (thats not me being a homer, that was the actual scouting report by many credible sources). The one knock wasn't even arm length, as teams would have removed him from their board based solely on that, it was a strength issue. And, I guess the FO, who are dedicated in researching the prospects, believe that wont be an issue with an NFL work out regiment. The guy is competitive as they come which is huge, he's as physical (he seeks contact) as they come which is huge.

the arm length, eh, not worried. His footwork will put him in positions to where it wont even matter. The strength issue, well he handled NFL 1rst rd picks who went onto success rookie years, so I honestly dont think it'll even matter.

My money is he's day 1 starter at RT and we never look back.

Need to see a link to support that one.

Tbonenc
05-18-2013, 10:46 AM
Like any rookie, we don't know what he will become, but saying that he isn't big enough or that his arms are one inch too short is just stupid.

giantsfan420
05-18-2013, 01:48 PM
Need to see a link to support that one.not gonna go looking thru the MB but I read an article on here that stated that and a couple from espn or something...eh, ill try and find them. def is true tho and imo the reason being Johnson was a QB then went to TE than OT. Only has 2 yrs as an OT, before that he primarily tried avoiding contact. and with OL, it may be the 1 position where actual like intestinal fortitude and toughness that goes beyond combine measurables, and Johnson is nowhere near Pugh in that regard (4 yr starter, played hockey growing up. was always an OL. Loves physical confrontation and seeks it.
then when u compare their agility and ability to move in space, get to the 2nd level, theyre virtually a dead lock. That was what propelled Johnson so high in the first place. Johnson has the better physical measurements tho...but Pugh is way more technically sound.
Just remembered that 1 of the articles worded it where Johnson had the higher ceiling but Pugh was the better player right now, and i can agree with that to a degree just bc Pugh is so technically sound combined with his agility. If he had Johnsons measurements, he prob woulda been right there with Fisher imo. My question became, were Johnson there @ 19, do we take him over Pugh? answer isnt cut n dry if we remember last yr how the consensus saw Martin being the pick but JR having his board differently than the majority...

appodictic
05-18-2013, 10:35 PM
Like any rookie, we don't know what he will become, but saying that he isn't big enough or that his arms are one inch too short is just stupid. Well we dont know. Right the arm length thing is nothing, but being light/not string is a big deal for a lineman.