PDA

View Full Version : NFL Future Power Rankings



RoanokeFan
06-21-2013, 12:56 PM
http://insider.espn.go.com/nfl/story/_/id/9387680/nfl-future-power-rankings-projecting-every-franchise-entering-2016-seasonNYG?refresh=true

Long-term, sustainable success. It's the goal of every NFL franchise. And while some have realized it in recent years -- the Pittsburgh Steelers (http://espn.go.com/nfl/team/_/name/pit/pittsburgh-steelers), Green Bay Packers (http://espn.go.com/nfl/team/_/name/gb/green-bay-packers), New York Giants (http://espn.go.com/nfl/team/_/name/nyg/new-york-giants) and New England Patriots (http://espn.go.com/nfl/team/_/name/ne/new-england-patriots), to name a few -- it has proved equally elusive to others who have chased football's biggest prize with a short-term, win-now mindset only to butt-fumble away their long-term growth (see: Jets, New York).

ESPN Insider's NFL Future Power Rankings are an attempt by our expert analysts to measure the confidence they have in each franchise as it projects three seasons ahead. It is not a predicted order of finish for the 2016 season, but rather a barometer tracking where each franchise is heading. And from our first installment of the project (http://insider.espn.go.com/nfl/story/_/id/7937696/nfl-future-power-rankings-projecting-every-franchise-entering-2015-season) last summer to now, we've already seen some organizations make great strides towards becoming a Super Bowl contender, while others have slipped back towards square one.In evaluating each team, our analysts broke down five facets deemed critical to the long-term health of a franchise:

• The roster (minus the QB) as it projects in 2016, emphasizing players 27 and younger
• The franchise quarterback as he projects in 2016
• The strength of a team's 2013 draft picks and their available picks in future drafts
• The reputation and performance of the front office
• The stability and acumen of a team's coaching staffOur experts -- Herm Edwards, Mel Kiper, Mike Sando, Gary Horton, Matt Williamson and Field Yates -- ranked each franchise from 1-10 across the five categories, then provided a breakdown for each team. Former NFL GM Bill Polian abstained from the ranking, but offered his insights for the front office analysis below. Using a weighted formula (explained briefly in the sidebar to the right, and in more detail here (http://espn.go.com/nfl/story/_/id/9400750/nfl-future-power-rankings-methodology-rankings)) we generated our final rankings.Here are the NFL Future Power Rankings:
http://a.espncdn.com/combiner/i?img=/i/teamlogos/nfl/500/nyg.png?w=80&h=80&transparent=true
7

New York Giants (http://espn.go.com/nfl/team/_/name/nyg/new-york-giants)

LAST SEASON: 9-7 (second place NFC East)

http://assets.espn.go.com/i/nfl/future_power_rankings/2013/nyg.jpg
The bar graphs reflect the average rating given by the voters for each category.

Category averages are weighted by importance to generate overall score.Roster: New York has gotten old in the trenches, but this most recent draft will help alleviate that problem -- and this franchise is built on great play from its big men, especially on the defensive side of the ball. If players such as Rueben Randle (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/14911/rueben-randle), David Wilson (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/14887/david-wilson), Prince Amukamara (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/13975/prince-amukamara) and Marvin Austin (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/14025/marvin-austin) play to their vast potential, to go along with cornerstones Jason Pierre-Paul (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/13256/jason-pierre-paul), Victor Cruz (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/13553/victor-cruz) and Hakeem Nicks (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/12586/hakeem-nicks) (and they can retain all three), the Giants should be fine. -- Williamson

Quarterback:

Eli Manning (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/5526/eli-manning) will be 35 years old in 2016, but there's little reason to expect a significant decline by then. Manning's current deal runs through 2015, so he'll need a contract extension (that should be automatic when the time is right). Manning has a strong arm and a level head, qualities that serve him well playing outdoors in the New York market. He has to hope the Giants can keep together his receiving corps. He has benefited from staff continuity, something to keep in mind given that Tom Coughlin will be 70 years old in 2016. -- Sando

Draft: Under Jerry Reese (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/8165/jerry-reese), the Giants don't always hit what I consider home runs in terms of the the value they extract based on board position, but few teams do a better job of targeting players they feel their coaching staff can develop. New York bucked a trend this year in in taking an offensive lineman in Round 1, and I'm concerned about the Giants' low level of talent at linebacker, but Coughlin continues to find solutions, and this team hasn't had a single selection higher than No. 15 overall since 2004 (that No. 15 pick was Pierre-Paul in 2010). They're doing plenty right, and haven't traded away any future picks. -- Kiper

Front office: John Mara, Reese, Coughlin and Manning equals two world championships. There is not a lot more to say. They all return, though how long will Coughlin coach? Reese, as usual, has done a great job in free agency finding great role players at low prices. Cullen Jenkins (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/5009/cullen-jenkins), Mike Patterson (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/8445/mike-patterson) and Dan Connor (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/11308/dan-connor) all fill that bill. The questions remain in the secondary. Wilson and Andre Brown (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/12490/andre-brown) should certainly get the job done at running back. If Cruz can play through his contract issues and Brandon Myers (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/12705/brandon-myers) can play reasonably well at tight end, the offense will be fine in 2013 and likely beyond. As always, one of the best managed and coached teams in the league will be in the hunt. -- Polian

Coaching: Do I think that Coughlin will be with the Giants in three seasons? No. But, this organization gets high marks from me because he has been a terrific coach for a long time. Entering his 10th season in New York, it seems like there have been calls for his head every season. All he has done is win, including two Super Bowl titles. Coughlin is in the Hall of Fame conversation and given the strong front office in New York, whoever replaces him will be a strong candidate. -- Edwards" Read more...

giantscolombia
06-21-2013, 01:42 PM
Good read!
Preciate it Brochacho!

RoanokeFan
06-21-2013, 02:08 PM
Good read!
Preciate it Brochacho!

De nada, mi amigo

It's the consistency that makes the difference.

Kruunch
06-21-2013, 02:13 PM
The fact that Herm Edwards is one of the "experts" makes me cringe.

giantscolombia
06-21-2013, 02:17 PM
The fact that Herm Edwards is one of the "experts" makes me cringe.
Lol true. haha

ShakeandBake
06-21-2013, 02:31 PM
QB points for giants=7.7. QB ranking for SF=8.7. I'm surprised this wasn't pointed out yet.

DVision
06-21-2013, 02:48 PM
QB points for giants=7.7. QB ranking for SF=8.7. I'm surprised this wasn't pointed out yet.

Sando did the QB section and he happens to be the writer for ESPN's NFC West Blog.

giant-4-life
06-21-2013, 03:06 PM
QB points for giants=7.7. QB ranking for SF=8.7. I'm surprised this wasn't pointed out yet.

so these basic minded dimwits say a QB with no SB titles rates higher then a QB who is seasoned and proven WITH 2 SB rings?

bah, no F-in credibility.

giantsfan420
06-21-2013, 03:12 PM
so these basic minded dimwits say a QB with no SB titles rates higher then a QB who is seasoned and proven WITH 2 SB rings?

bah, no F-in credibility.well, to be fair, they are speaking about the qb and how he'll play/look in 3 yrs. at 35, its not unfair for a person to believe he wont be at his prime while 3 yrs from now Kaepernick will be entering his prime (theoretically). I agree that its crazy to rate the SF QB position better than ours, just tryn to see where theyre coming from

BlueBlooded1979
06-22-2013, 02:27 AM
Eli will walk into the HOF with some guys still questioning the type of QB he was. I am beyond caring about what "analysts" like Sando, Dilfer and Hasselbeck think of him. I actually prefer they talk about him poorly and rampantly backpedal when he wins SBs.

penguinfarmer
06-22-2013, 07:35 AM
All these criticisms of this and that for an article doing power rankings for 2016, which is fundamentally a stretch to predict what will happen in 3 years for a league that is known for parity.

Top 10 and rest of NFC East btw
1. SF
2. GB
3. SEA
4. BAL
5. NE
6. ATL
7. NYG
8t. STL
8t. IND
10. NO

16. WASH
17. PHI
24. LOLDALLAS

I'd say we look to be in good shape in terms of our future.

RolleN N CruzN
06-22-2013, 07:36 AM
Does ESPN still have Seattle as #1? That's ESPN's credibility right there...

RolleN N CruzN
06-22-2013, 07:37 AM
Baltimore is too high and the Giants are too low...

Eliscruzzz
06-22-2013, 09:02 AM
Baltimore is too high and the Giants are too low...+1

gumby74
06-22-2013, 12:52 PM
Washington is too low. And so is Indy.