PDA

View Full Version : Spencer Paysinger: "You Don't Have To Have Big Names"



RoanokeFan
07-02-2013, 01:25 PM
http://www.bigblueview.com/2013/7/2/4480712/spencer-paysinger-new-york-giants-linebackers-mark-herzlich-keith-rivers

Excerpt: "Linebackers. They are a constant topic of conversation here at Big Blue View, with their play and the New York Giants (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/teams/new-york-giants) seeming unwillingness to prioritize the position constantly being bones of contention.

"Third-year player Spencer Paysinger (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/133195/spencer-paysinger) is one of those linebackers and he could well end up as a starter in what will definitely be a revamped unit. Two of last season's starters, Michael Boley (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/1115/michael-boley) and Chase Blackburn (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/2207/chase-blackburn), are no longer Giants. The third, Mathias Kiwanuka (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/2229/mathias-kiwanuka), is now a full-time defensive end.

Entering training camp, Paysinger and oft-injured veteran Keith Rivers will top the depth chart on the outside. Mark Herzlich (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/131182/mark-herzlich) will be No. 1 on the inside.

Paysinger understands the perception, and knows there are questions about the linebacking unit.

"I think each of us have our own different kind of challenges that we want to accomplish," Paysinger said during mini-camp. "Myself and Mark being undrafted guys, as well as a couple of other players in the room. Just show them that we can go from being primarily special team players to growing into ourselves out there and showing the players as well as the coaches and also the fans, too, that you don't have to have the big names to play linebacker.

"Myself I'm not a big name at all or anything like that but I have shown that I can handle the workload." Read more...

PBTimmons
07-02-2013, 01:32 PM
Thinking about our linebackers makes me sick to my stomach. Paysinger has shown enough so far that it doesn't seem to be much of a stretch that he could become a decent starter. I believe he has run game instincts and the athleticism to hang with NFL TE's.

Herzlich is a different situation- one of his redeeming qualities was that he was smart and instinctive. Both qualities which have not translated to the NFL to this point.

joemorrisforprez
07-02-2013, 08:49 PM
They need to step up, or else this unit will suck and so will the defense.

JWill, Paysinger, and Herzlich are young, and therefore have some upside.

Curry and Rivers need to perform now, or else make room for someone else.