Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Offseason Plan (Free Agency and Draft) 1.1

Hey Everyone,

I tried to put together a mock offseason with as accurate numbers as I could. I may have over-estimated some contracts, but I figured it'd be more realistic this way. For example, I'm not sure how much our ERFA will make, so I just went with the max (I believe) of 600k. I'm also not an expert at predicting salaries, but I tried my best. I spent most of the available free agency money on re-signing our own players, such as backups and depth players. This surprisingly took up more of our cap space than I expected (although the numbers may not work out this way due to contract breakdowns and such- the cap hits can be staggered and such).

The first complaint I know will be that I have JPP and Hankins both leaving. My reasoning is this: If JPP really wants between 16-18 mil a year, that basically equates to a left tackle (Whitworth) and a mid-tier guard salary. Considering our heavy need for these positions, I just don't see that working out. The draft is stacked at DE, and I think Okwara showed enough (with the hopeful progression of Odighizuwa) to be average at that spot. The way the salary cap works this year you just cant have studs at every position. We just put a lot of money into DE and DT last year in free agency and I just can't see us spending even more on that this year. I think it would make much more sense to allow our defense to take a step back in terms of our DL talent (and re-stock in the draft), and bolster our offensive line. Again, this is my personal opinion.

I have us signing Whitworth in free agency (11 mil a year maybe too much? he made 9 last year). Considering he is really the only left tackle (and a good one) available, I feel we will have a lot of competition and may need to overpay him to get him (Even though he is 35).