Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Need an explanation please...

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Need an explanation please...

    Sorry if this has been brought up but I have a question...

    Why wasn't JPP's forced fumble of RGIII considered a sack?

    Honestly, I don't play fantasy football, I don't care about stats for the most part but I do take pride or satisfaction or what have you in knowing the Giants get after the QB and are among the leaders in sacks every year. Maybe its because I fell in love with seeing opposing QBs getting killed from the days of LT.

    If you watch the play... JPP is right on RGIII after he faked a hand-off to Morris and tries to make a move but JPP tackles him and forces the fumble but this isn't considered a sack?

    Why is this?

    Or was the early tackle of RGIII by JPP not considered a sack, where he first did the Gangnam dance celebration thing? I'm just confused how this is figured out.

    Stats wise the Giants are considered to have 3 sacks on the game... one each for Osi, Tuck, and JPP. I thought JPP should have had 2 sacks on the game.

    Can someone explain to me why he doesn't?

    Thanks.

  • #2
    Because it was a running play and the scorekeepers correctly assigned it as such.

    Comment


    • #3
      RG3 was considered a runner, so it's a tackle for loss & a force fumble.
      "...two minute drill at the end of each quarter, Ya'know with the wind like this blowing mooch and marshall into the ocean...If that's behind me I think were getting 3 from 70 so holla at your boy. IF YOU DON"T PICK ME THAT'S A JOKE RIGHT?" - Justin Tucker, Ravens kicker

      Complain?, ain't Nobody got time for dat!

      GO GIANTS!

      Comment


      • #4
        So, they determine sacks based on what play is called by the offense? There were receivers running routes on the play, they didn't just block the defensive backs on them for RGIII to run.

        Also, during the play, RGIII didn't have a chance to run or pass or anything honestly.

        Huh, learn something new everyday I guess. Still seems a little odd to me because the announcers and others called it a sack as well.

        Comment


        • #5
          If it's a fumble, it can't be a tackle or a sack.

          A tackle ends the play.
          I don't always root for the Cowboys but when I do I wear my pink Jessica Simpson edition Romo jersey. (yes I lost a bet)

          Comment


          • #6
            That should have been a sack. There is no way you can assume RGIII was going to run. He looked like it cause JPP was coming!

            Comment


            • #7
              Nah you can have sack/fumbles on the same play. Just ask Osi, I think in this case it is not a sack because the offense Washington was running. Run option, QB is a running back, therefore tackle forced fumble not a sack. I think so anyway. One thing I love about the NFL, you can play football as a kid and in HS and even in college but there are so many runs and so much subtlety you learn something new or see something for the first time just about every week.

              Comment


              • #8
                Originally posted by Kruunch View Post
                If it's a fumble, it can't be a tackle or a sack.

                A tackle ends the play.
                That's not true...see all of the tomahawk strips that LT used to do on Jaworski that were recorded as sacks...

                Comment


                • #9
                  I think if a QB is tackled behind the LOS regardless of what they were doing it should be recorded as a sack... Unless he runs out of bounds behind the LOS then Ill say it was a loss of yards... But if someone pushes him OOB behind the LOS Id say its a sack... Either way great play regardless...
                  Go Giants!!!

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Originally posted by yoeddy View Post
                    That's not true...see all of the tomahawk strips that LT used to do on Jaworski that were recorded as sacks...
                    I wasn't aware any of them were counted as sacks (unless the QB recovered the fumble).
                    I don't always root for the Cowboys but when I do I wear my pink Jessica Simpson edition Romo jersey. (yes I lost a bet)

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Originally posted by Kruunch View Post
                      I wasn't aware any of them were counted as sacks (unless the QB recovered the fumble).
                      I know it's not the NFL rulebook (and therefore might not be reliable), but Wikipedia says "A sack is also credited when a defender causes the quarterback to fumble and the defending team recovers the ball behind or at the line of scrimmage."

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Originally posted by yoeddy View Post
                        I know it's not the NFL rulebook (and therefore might not be reliable), but Wikipedia says "A sack is also credited when a defender causes the quarterback to fumble and the defending team recovers the ball behind or at the line of scrimmage."
                        Ah ok ... thanks for looking that up
                        I don't always root for the Cowboys but when I do I wear my pink Jessica Simpson edition Romo jersey. (yes I lost a bet)

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          Originally posted by Kruunch View Post
                          I wasn't aware any of them were counted as sacks (unless the QB recovered the fumble).
                          If a defender strips the ball its considered a sack. Unless another offensive player recovers it and carries it for a gain.
                          In the RG111 case, the scorer must have considered him a runner. A sack is tackling a PASSER behind the line of scrimmage.
                          How can they know for sure?....They can't. They just use their judgement.
                          Ultimately?....who cares. (unless it the defense on my FF team)
                          Admit nothing. Deny everything. Make counter accusations.

                          Comment


                          • #14
                            Originally posted by Kruunch View Post
                            Ah ok ... thanks for looking that up
                            WIKI is not exactly right. At least not completely. If the QB is conducting a running play and gets tackled behind the line its NOT a sack. He has to be at least at one time, looking to pass the ball.
                            If not, then the kneel down play would be considered a sack, and its not.
                            Again, it takes some common sense and judgement on the scorers behalf.
                            Admit nothing. Deny everything. Make counter accusations.

                            Comment


                            • #15
                              Originally posted by Morehead State View Post
                              If a defender strips the ball its considered a sack. Unless another offensive player recovers it and carries it for a gain.
                              In the RG111 case, the scorer must have considered him a runner. A sack is tackling a PASSER behind the line of scrimmage.
                              How can they know for sure?....They can't. They just use their judgement.
                              Ultimately?....who cares. (unless it the defense on my FF team)
                              As for the who cares part:

                              1) Stats are often used in contract negotiations.

                              2) Pro bowl selections.

                              3) Hall of Fame selections.

                              4) All of the above which leads to / enhances endorsement deals.

                              I think the correct keeping of those types of statistics (especially sacks) is very important for the players' career and legacy, no?
                              I don't always root for the Cowboys but when I do I wear my pink Jessica Simpson edition Romo jersey. (yes I lost a bet)

                              Comment

                              Working...
                              X