Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Rules Question

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Rules Question

    Two quick questions on the rules regarding the reversed fumble calls.

    1- If the ball is hit out of a QB's hand, even if it is moving forward, shouldn't that still be a fumble? On two of the fumbles by Sanchez, the BALL was knocked from his hand, it wasn't just his arm that got hit as it was moving forward.

    2- If it is ruled an incomplete pass, isn't that technically intentional grounding since the QB is under pressure, in the pocket, and throwing the ball into the ground?

  • #2
    Re: Rules Question

    the refs were just awful.

    one question i had, on the incomplete to holmes when its clear he had it two steps plus one, then fumbled it, the ref said coughlin is not allowed to challenge...

    WHAT?!?!?! THERE IS NO RULE SAYING U CANNOT CHALLENGE THAT IS THERE?!

    horrible officiating but it wouldnt have mattered even if they could review it the refs woulda upheld it as an incompletion.

    the refs seriously tried to hand this one to the jets...all year the officiating especially vs the giants has been putrid

    Comment


    • #3
      Re: Rules Question

      1- Tuck Rule

      2- Good question. I think that because the ruling is in-and-of-itself an exception to the usual rules, intentional grounding also does not apply.

      Comment


      • #4
        Re: Rules Question

        I am giant fan so please know that when reading this.

        1) Yes there is a rule that says you cannot challenge an incomplete pass - if it is ruled incomplete it is in fact a dead ball and cannot be reviewed. Sadly Holmes did seem to fumble but we will never know.

        2) There was a tuck rule correctyl called - the actual rule is bad - but it was followed to the letter of the law

        3) The call where kerlel rolled over on antrel rolle it seemed to me that he actually landed on rolles cleat and not the ground - if his elbow did hit the ground - good call - but it seemed to me there was not irrefutable eveidence and the call should have stood.

        4) The pi on grant ont eh 4th and 2 was tough - he was definitely physical there and that can be called just seemed a bit ticky tack.

        5) Glad they got the PI on plax - as giant fans we have all seen that one a lot - and you just hope its not called if its your guy. That may have been the only snap Prince saw.

        Comment


        • #5
          Re: Rules Question

          [quote user="giantsfan420"]the refs were just awful.

          one question i had, on the incomplete to holmes when its clear he had it two steps plus one, then fumbled it, the ref said coughlin is not allowed to challenge...

          WHAT?!?!?! THERE IS NO RULE SAYING U CANNOT CHALLENGE THAT IS THERE?!

          horrible officiating but it wouldnt have mattered even if they could review it the refs woulda upheld it as an incompletion.

          the refs seriously tried to hand this one to the jets...all year the officiating especially vs the giants has been putrid[/quote]

          Hell if he had taken any more steps he would have been in the end zone lol.Refs are bad TEXANS COLTS game was really bad ref crap also.
          Bill Loyal to the NYG logo

          Comment


          • #6
            Re: Rules Question

            The Tuck rule is the number one worst rule in football. They say that the ball is incomplete on that garbage call, and that the QB has the intent of passing it after the ball has passed any reasonable point of release. Just another way that the NFL has legislated defense out of the league.

            One thing that bothered me was that the Jets db's, especially Revis, were early when ever they made a play in the secondary. Every one of those deflections was PI and were not called.

            Comment


            • #7
              Re: Rules Question

              we were cheated out of 2 turnovers this game. The Kurly fumble which should have been a touchdown for Ross and the JPP sack which Tuck recovered the fumble. The Refs mad some bad calls.

              Comment


              • #8
                Re: Rules Question

                [quote user="dave56dj"]I am giant fan so please know that when reading this.

                1) Yes there is a rule that says you cannot challenge an incomplete pass - if it is ruled incomplete it is in fact a dead ball and cannot be reviewed. Sadly Holmes did seem to fumble but we will never know.

                2) There was a tuck rule correctyl called - the actual rule is bad - but it was followed to the letter of the law

                3) The call where kerlel rolled over on antrel rolle it seemed to me that he actually landed on rolles cleat and not the ground - if his elbow did hit the ground - good call - but it seemed to me there was not irrefutable eveidence and the call should have stood.


                4) The pi on grant ont eh 4th and 2 was tough - he was definitely physical there and that can be called just seemed a bit ticky tack.

                5) Glad they got the PI on plax - as giant fans we have all seen that one a lot - and you just hope its not called if its your guy. That may have been the only snap Prince saw.[/quote]

                You are absolutely correct. Whether or not his elbow hit the ground could not be discerned with any amount of certainty and so the call on the field should have stood.

                Comment


                • #9
                  Re: Rules Question

                  First one you can argue - the second one you mention is the Tuck rule and they called it right. Whats more frustrating is Holmes fumbled the ball and it was called incomplete and you cant challenge.

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Re: Rules Question

                    [quote user="dave56dj"]First one you can argue - the second one you mention is the Tuck rule and they called it right. Whats more frustrating is Holmes fumbled the ball and it was called incomplete and you cant challenge.[/quote]I forgot about that play, make that 3 turnovers we were cheated out of. What makes that play suck is the fact that it could not be challenged.

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Re: Rules Question

                      His arm went forward and he didn't release it but held on to it like he didn't want to let it go. Another huge grey area where the refs are unsure of the rules!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
                      It's getting worse and worse!
                      How many playoff games this year will be decided by a blown call or misinterpretation of a rule?
                      "There is winning and there is Misery"

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Re: Rules Question

                        [quote user="dave56dj"]First one you can argue - the second one you mention is the Tuck rule and they called it right. Whats more frustrating is Holmes fumbled the ball and it was called incomplete and you cant challenge.[/quote]

                        what i don't understand is why it wasn't reviewable.
                        they challenge and review whether passes were complete or not all the time.

                        coughlin should have argued his *** off on that.....

                        am i wrong or what ?
                        since when is complete or incomplete not a challengeable reviewable call ?

                        they do it all the time.....
                        you need control and a football move....
                        i've seen this reviewed many times.
                        due to the fact that I am from the Woodstock generation ...
                        my opinions may be chemically enhanced and influenced by severe episodes of memory loss

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          Re: Rules Question

                          That was a bad/missed call.

                          However, I don't think a team can challenge an opposing team's incompletion/catch to get a fumble recovery/turnover.
                          Once the refs blows the whistle, the play is dead and the fumble recover/turnover cannot come after that.

                          Comment


                          • #14
                            Re: Rules Question

                            The play is dead once it is ruled incomplete so their cannot be a recovery of a fumble. You can have clear recovery on a ball that has been secured and then fumbled but not on an incomplete pass.

                            Comment


                            • #15
                              Re: Rules Question

                              that's my point.... the pass WAS complete,
                              which IS reviewable.

                              once under review , the entire play becomes
                              subject to scrutiny. the pass was obviously
                              complete...the fumble recovery would be allowed.
                              because of the whistle there could be no advancement, but we would still get possession.

                              TC wanted a challenge on the fumble....
                              he should have challenged the completion ;
                              which was absolutely within his rights.
                              instead ; he asked to challenge the fumble.

                              what a maroon.
                              due to the fact that I am from the Woodstock generation ...
                              my opinions may be chemically enhanced and influenced by severe episodes of memory loss

                              Comment

                              Working...
                              X