Reason why Webb should be tested

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Reason why Webb should be tested

(Please excuse the long post. It's my first time)
    Hello fellow disgruntled Giants Fans! I have been a fan of the NY Giants since 2004, when the Coughlin/Manning era first started. I personally feel we are now on the dawn of a new era for Big Blue.

Who will lead this team into a bright, successful future? We do not yet know. But I feel if the right decisions are made this off-season, we can have a successful turn-around from this dreadful display of professional football we see this year, to a glorious future, in only a couple of years. (For example, the hated Eagles now look like serious contenders after making front office changes just two years ago. It is possible to build success quickly).

I personally wish our GM and Head coach are changed this offseason. But who knows if Mara/Tisch will do that. However, no matter how the front office looks, I feel at least this one thing NEEDS to be looked into before next year...this team needs to see what they have in Davis Webb.

Does that mean I feel he should start the rest of the season? Not necessarily. He could play in the 4th quarter of games, get more practice time during the week, etc. But the team needs to see if he can be the QB of the future or not.

I have seen this topic discussed previously, with many for and against the idea. To demonstrate why I feel testing Davis Webb is a good idea, below I have 3 draft day scenarios that could occur depending on the situation with Webb.

The first scenario is if we need to find a new QB. The second scenario is if Webb is the future and the team can trade back their top 3 pick for more picks. I used this website to estimate the value of the draft picks. http://walterfootball.com/draftchart.php (I know, trading picks does not appear likely by this team, but anything can happen. These are just what-if scenarios).