+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

How much will JPP eventually cost?

Yes, it's a few years away, but it's also a slow time of year so we're allowed to ponder.

I was reading this article about cliff Avril: http://www.nfl.com/news/story/09000d...headline_stack

Avril has 30 sacks in 4 years, and the Lions are "far apart" in negotiating a long-term deal after franchising him. JPP has 21.5 sacks in 2 years. Let's say he has 40 by the end of his contract (could be a lot more if he stays healthy). Seems like the Giants will need to prepare to make JPP the highest paid defensive player in league history (until the next big contract comes along the next season) when he hits free agency.

Re: How much will JPP eventually cost?

More than Mario Williams

Whatever it will be, he will be worth every penny. I am definitely not looking forward to that day lol, although I am happy for him.

I'm not really an expert on contracts (I really couldn't care less), but I'll say that if he commands that kind of big bucks, it'll be because he's worth it.

So I hope he gets it.
    We need our coaches to assign playing time based on something other than player salary.

Well the five-year contract he signed in 2010 is worth around 20 million all up. Provided his play doesn't drop off, that number could be closer to what he'll pull in each year once he inks a new deal.

Scary to think about.

All-Pro

Going to be most likely the most ever if he continues at this pace, but it will be worth it for this team since DE is our heart and soul to this team on defense.

[quote user="LT_was_good"]Yes, it's a few years away, but it's also a slow time of year so we're allowed to ponder.

I was reading this article about cliff Avril: http://www.nfl.com/news/story/09000d...headline_stack