+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1

    Not a TD? Refresh my memory.

    So, on that punt, their guy (#15 I believe) muffs the catch, our guy picks it up and runs in to the end zone. The TV graphic flashes "TOUCHDOWN!" and I certainly thought it was.

    Then turns out the TD never happened and we got the ball where our guy picked it up. Why is that? Can the kicking team not advance punts???

  2. #2
    No, you cannot advance a muffed punt. It would have been better had he caught the punt and then fumbled it.

  3. #3
    Quote Originally Posted by BlueSanta View Post
    It would have been better had he caught the punt and then fumbled it.
    ahhhh got it. Thanks, friend!!

  4. #4
    Veteran CowboysSuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Albany, NY
    Posts
    2,409
    Or, even if he waived for a fair catch, got out of the way, and then the ball bounced back into him, we could advance it. Yettt if he 'MEANT' to catch it, it cannot be advanced?? Thats one of the dumbest rules (btw ive never seen that happen) I've heard of. JOKE

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts