I have watched Sunday's game against the Cowboys twice and realize that there were quite a few "questionable" calls/no-calls by the officials. However, there was one that really has me stumped and I would appreciate it if anyone who still has a copy of the game could checks out this play and let me know what you think. Here's the situation . . .
1) 4th quarter;
2) ~4:30 left in the game;
3) ball's on the Dallas 26;
4) handoff to Bradshaw and he's tackled on is down on the 21 ... appears to land on the yellow line indicating the first down marker;
5) line judge on the Dallas sideline runs in and spots the ball on the 24 yard lined.
My question is "Why"? Why did he mark the ball approximately 3 - 4 yards short of where AB was downed? What did I miss? The announcers did not say anything about it. No one on the Giants' sideline appeared to complain or protest. (Based on the amount of time remaining in the game, it was a challengeable situation. I'd appreciate it if someone would give me a clarification. Thanks.