+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Giants' Perry Fewell Made Adjustments After Reviewing Final Sequence Of Plays Vs. Cow

http://www.nj.com/giants/index.ssf/2...l#incart_river

Excerpt: "The Giants' 29-24 win in Dallas last week came down to the Cowboys' final possession, a sequence in which they ran nine plays in the game's final 44 seconds.

The key play, of course, was the overturned 37-yard touchdown to Dez Bryant, when the receiver landed out of bounds by a fingertip. Giants defensive coordinator Perry Fewell found areas to learn from while breaking down the entire series.

"We went back, and I studied it," Fewell said Thursday. "I made some adjustments into what we need to do and how we can play that sequence better, but I thought they had a nice answer to what we tried to counter with."

Punter Steve Weatherford did a nice job booming a deep, out of bounds punt that put the Cowboys at their own 30-yard line to start. A 13-yard completion to tight end Jason Witten advanced them to their 43-yard line, and after a spike to stop the clock, quarterback Tony Romo was working with a second-and-10 at the 43 with 25 seconds to play.

Fewell praised the plays the Cowboys strung together at this point: A 16-yard completion to Bryant on an out-breaking route, followed by a 4-yard completion to Witten on another out-breaking route. That set up a second-and-6 from the Giants' 37-yard line, the play on which Bryant ran an out-and-up past cornerback Corey Webster into the end zone. Coach Tom Coughlin said afterward he wondered, "How in the world does somebody, in that defense, get behind someone?"

Fewell's answer: "It was a pressure called, and so some people were playing the pressure and they thought that we made a coverage check, and some people were playing a coverage. So that’s why he was out there like that." Read more...
    “Never argue with an idiot. They will only bring you down to their level and beat you with experience.” MB Rule # 1

Veteran