+ Reply to Thread

Some things I would like to see done differently.

On offense:
    1) I have been saying this for a couple years now but I want to know why all the sudden in the last couple years we have stopped using the RBs in the passing game, other than to just block. I am not refering to splitting a RB out either.

By keeping our back in to block on passing downs we are allowing the other team to run more stunts and LB blitzes since the DE doesnt have to follow a back into the flat and the LBs dont have to worry about the dumpoff. When defenses play man coverage and still Blitz LBS a lot, like the Steelers did all game, that means the backs are the guys who are left unaccounted for. I want to see us use our backs more as hot recievers when Lbs blitz. We did it once early in the 3rd quarter to Hynocerous and it yielded a 1st down. We used to do it a bunch with Tiki. Do it more.

2) This is a follow up to #1 but we need to run more screens. The reason I did not include this in #1 is because there are other types of screens, including TE screens. Again, the way you keep the passrush honest is with screens and draws. God Knows we run enough shotgun draws, but where are the screens? Furthermore, there is no better way to make DCoodinators keep their LBs honest than by making them defend the odd screen. In particular, i would like to see this done in the red(green w/e) zone.