+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Kiwanuk***

Bench Player

Kiwanuk***

Personally, he's one of my favorite players on the team. Always been a likable, team-first player, with a ton of talent.

My feeling right now is (and I'm by no means an expert) that we really could use him back at the DE position. Tuck is battered, Osi is out, Tolly is decent (like the guy, but best as a rotational player). As it is, JPP is our only productive DE.

We're terrible at LB - I don't think Kiwi is going to make or break that fact. So we might as well embrace the crappy LB corps and ensure we have a solid line with a pass-rush by plugging Kiwi back in there. I think we have a lot more to gain by having him in his natural position, than what we lose by moving him out of the LB spot.

Just curious how everyone else feels about this. Figured I'd make one of my first threads a partial attempt at changing the subject from gloom-and-doom to something less aggravating
    (hopefully, though the fact we have to plug LB holes with DE's is a little irritating to begin with).

Re: Kiwanuk***

I'm not sure exactly how many times he was at DE yesterday but I seen him there many times. Him, Tuck, Tollefson, JPP all get rotated. Kiwi was getting good pressure too but unfortunately not enough to get a sack.
    Odell Beckham Junior: The future of the Giants

I like him as a hybrid honestly but they don't play him as a 3 down LB'er so it feels like it's kind of waste having him at that position. I think Osi is traded before the draft this season and I think we could return Kiwi back to DE have a 4 man rotation with him, Tuck, JPP and Tolly. Of course that's IF we can get a decent LB to replace him. That seems to be a big IF, especially with the cap concern.

Bench Player