Quote Originally Posted by dave56dj View Post
This comes straight from the nfl - not sure why you think it isnt true.

Today the NFL’s communications department attempted to clear things up, with e-mails to the media and Twitter messages pointing to the exact wording of the rules regarding defenseless players.

The relevant portion of the rule is:

“It is a foul if a player initiates unnecessary contact against a player who is in a defenseless posture.
(a) Players in a defenseless posture are: [. . .]
(2) A receiver attempting to catch a pass; or who has completed a catch and has not had time to protect himself or has not clearly become a runner. If the receiver/runner is capable of avoiding or warding off the impending contact of an opponent, he is no longer a defenseless player
What I posted comes straight form the NFL office too. You are only posting half of the rule defining what a defenseless player is. You are leaving out the part I posted which defines the area of a defenseless receiver you can and can't hit.