I got trucked once in high school by a running back lowering his head into mine. I saw stars, but got back up like "eh, its football."
THATS 2 TIME SUPERBOWL MVP ELI MANNING TO YOU
i dont think ppl have read up on the rule. using ur head or whatever ppl seem to be complaining about, thats still allowed inside the tackle to tackle box. its only OUTSIDE that where leading with the crown intentionally is a penalty. and almost ALWAYS, when ur outside that tackle box area, ur in the open field or like 1 on 1 or 2, i dont see how a pro nfl player couldnt make an adjustment to not lead with the crown in open space, if anything players are using more agility nowadays out in space. its only the rare slow power back who will break this rule, even BJ would start using agility and moves outside the tackle box. that run he had on laron landry years ago, thatd still be legal according to this new rule as the contact occurred inbetween the tackle to tackle area extended to the end line.
and YA, if a player is engaging a group of defenders as in ur example, it isnt a violation. the rules seem to state that it isnt a penalty when within 3 yrds of the LOS and engaging in a crowd/group...